They Think I'm Crazy!

in #personal7 years ago (edited)

When I was 16, my dad bought me a car. Full price and brand new. I graduated college in 2015, and hadn't found full time employment. My savings were drying up and I needed money, so I sold my car to a local dealership. They thought I was crazy.

I took over my cousin's SUV payments, found employment, and began farming. Eventually the SUV became mine, and then the job started getting in the way of the farm and I decided the farm was more important. They thought I was insane.

I took another job at a tax office since the schedule worked with planting...or so we thought. Many night plantings, meltdowns, and existential crises later I decided not to go forward with the company. I was considered unsuccessful.

Everyone thinks I'm crazy because I choose the farm over everything else, but isn't that what owning a business and following dreams is about? You're supposed to live like no one else.

1724274-Dave-Ramsey-Quote-If-you-will-live-like-no-one-else-later-you-can.jpg

Now I'm selling the SUV because I never drive it and I can't justify throwing thousands of dollars a year into something I don't use. I can pay down my student loans, save for a beater, and give the farm the attention it deserves since we're expanding again this year to keep up with demand.

Everyone thinks I'm insane for selling my car, but everything points to that being the solution. At this point, making these sacrifices are what will drive me through the process. I may be crazy, but that's why I am and will continue to be successful.

db9838a7702847dbeb0f19eda57515f4.jpg

photos from google images

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story! I can totally understand you. I am a hobby beekeeper. Most free moments that I have I spend at the hives, love the produced product and love my bees. I have set myself a financial goal that i have to reach to quit my job and start living with my hives.
I will follow you and hope you will share more stories about your Farm.

Thank you! It's always nice to hear that other people are on a similar journey to a simpler life! I will follow you as well!

Really intersting story. Keep following your dreams. Looking forword to hear more, you've got my follow :D

Thank you! Hopefully they stay interesting.
I love telling people about my journey. Following you as well! :)

Awesome post! I am following you... can't wait for more posts about your progress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45