ENGLISH IDIOMS: put years on someone

in #persian7 years ago (edited)

put years on someone

پیر کردن

(Make someone look or feel older)

My friend is not much older than me, but having a child with genetic disease has put years on him.

دوستم خیلی از من مسن‌تر نیست، ولی داشتن بچه‌ای با بیماری موروثی او را پیر کرده است.

مثال دیگر:

High level of stress at work has put years on our boss.

سطح بالای تنش در محل کار رئیس ما را پیر کرده است.


This post is part of a series on English idioms for Persian speakers. You can find the other entries under the tag [ #idioms-tutorial ].

Sort:  

"Stress might put years on you. I suggest changing workplace"

thanks for another great tutorial. really good to see your post thanks for sharing and waiting for next one.

سلام برادر
امیدوارم شما خوب باشید

وعليكم السلام. شكراً.

عفوا اخى العزير
اننى سعيد لاننى وجدت من يتحدث اللغة العربية وايضا اللغة الفارسية

Thank you. I can understand classical Arabic. But sometimes I see texts in colloquial Arabic which I don't understand. As you know, Arabic is taught in schools in Iran until the 12th grade.

Hi brother @ghasemkiani
There is actually a big difference between writing in general Arabic and basic Arabic
I am glad that I met you, brother, welcome and also welcome all our people in Iran
And welcome all the people of the world
اتمنى لك يوم سعيد

Thank you and nice to meet you, too.

I am very happy to talk to you

Change a nappy, by God, and put years on your life.

Traveling across in India has put years on me.
Works?

With heavy make up she put on some years.

the daily grind of moneymaking can put years on a person

another portion of useful idioms ... good work, good post

this job has been putting years on you.

@ghasemkiani do you know Urdu too? I work on an educational app in urdu section

I don't know Urdu, unfortunately. Except for some words which are from Persian or Arabic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79