ENGLISH IDIOMS: long in the tooth

in #persian7 years ago

long in the tooth

نسبتاً پیر

(Relatively old)

This suit jacket makes me look somewhat long in the tooth, but I don’t really mind.

این کت مرا کمی پیر نشان می‌دهد، ولی من واقعاً اهمیتی نمی‌دهم.

مثال دیگر:

This dog is long in the tooth, but he can run very fast.

این سگ نسبتاً پیر است، ولی می‌تواند خیلی تند بدود.


This post is part of a series on English idioms for Persian speakers. You can find the other entries under the tag [ #idioms-tutorial ].

Sort:  

This car is long in the tooth, but I really love it!

You are long in the tooth among us but you did better than us.

I'm a bit long in the tooth to start being a student.

Their cars are looking rather long in the tooth, with the last model launched over 10 years ago.

My mother's pickle recipe is long in the tooth.

My dress is long in the tooth.

This neckpiece given by my grandmother is long in the tooth.

Whose job is better for him. May be you don't know I am learning very peaceful idioms and those are very helpful for the way of my life. thank you sir.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ghasemkiani to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I wonder how many of the people commenting here are actually learning about the Persian language?

I have added a line explaining the meaning of each idiom in English, so that it may be useful for everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72