ENGLISH IDIOMS: stand in need of

in #persian7 years ago

stand in need of

نیازمند بودن

The old shack by the lake stood badly in need of repair.

کلبه‌ی قدیمی کنار دریاچه بد جوری نیازمند تعمیر بود.


This post is part of a tutorial on English idioms for Persian speakers. You can find the other entries under the tag [ #idioms-tutorial ].

Sort:  

If you're the only one doing these lessons, you should have a lot of interest.

Yes, I am pretty interested in language acquisition and translation. In fact, I have been in the translation business since the early 1990's. I have translated and published several books in the past 25 years.

Really? That's impressive. I can barely do a poem or a very short story.

You're much better at writing than I am. I just translate from English into Persian, not the other way around.

Well I guess we all have some talents. I only know 1 language and sometimes I am jealous of others that know more than one. I tried learning some, but it seems too difficult for me to do on my own.

Our system seems to stand in need of reassessment now.

Science stands in need of new paradigms of pluralism.

Good position
Greetings to you

What it means..

Your posts are really beautiful all the time

Lorraine was ready to stand in if Helen got sick.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 18.18 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

Stand in need of Something you want.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84