English Idioms (416): for the life of me

in #persian7 years ago

416

for the life of me

به هیچ وجه

I couldn’t, for the life of me, remember where I had put the keys.

به هیچ وجه یادم نمی‌آمد که کلیدها را کجا گذاشته‌ام.

این اصطلاح با جمله‌های منفی به کار می‌رود.


This post is part of a tutorial on English idioms for Persian speakers. You can find the other entries under the tag [ #idioms-tutorial ].

Sort:  

well describe. .
good one like it amd upvote

Example A: how much is Bitcoin worth in june 2018? FOR THE LIFE OF ME, I can't tell you!

I just stumbled upon this post and must have read at least half your 400 plus posts now. I'm English so not exactly your target audience but you're doing some fine work here I must say!

Thank you for the kind words. I really appreciate it.

Example B: who will be the next US President? FOR THE LIFE OF ME, how to predict that?!

Example C: Who is @ghasemkiani in real life? FOR RTHE LIFE OF ME, I have no idea! ;-)

This post has received a 8.17 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @ghasemkiani.

good post. I upvote and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67