English Idioms (199): stand for

in #persian7 years ago

199

stand for

نشانه‌ی … بودن

The stars in the American flag stand for the States.

ستاره‌ها در پرچم آمریکا نشانه‌ی ایالت‌ها است.

این اصطلاح به معنای «از … طرفداری کردن» هم به کار می‌رود:

I’ll stand for you whatever happens.

هر اتفاقی هم بیفتد، من طرفدار شما هستم.

و به معنای «مقابله کردن»:

You should try to stand for all difficulties that may lie ahead.

باید سعی کنید با تمام مشکلاتی که ممکن است در پیش روی شما قرار گیرد، مقابله کنید.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing these idioms! You can also "stand up for someone/something" or "stand by someone's side". Ex. I'll stand up for you no matter what happens or I'll stand by your side regardless of what happens

Thank you for suggesting new idioms. I'll try to use them in the future.

حقا كتابات جيدة

you're making steemit a great community with your content ghasemkiani! keep it up!

I see you my friend :)

I've never heard those last two...

Google dictionary provides these three examples:

  • "BBC stands for British Broadcasting Corporation."
  • "We stand for animal welfare."
  • "I won't stand for any nonsense."

Now that's more like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51