ENGLISH IDIOMS: hang by a thread (or hair)

in #persian7 years ago

hang by a thread (or hair)

به تار مویی بند بودن

(To be in a risky situation.)

At that point, I felt as if I was hanging by a thread and had no idea what could befall me if I continued my work.

در آن زمان، احساس می‌کردم گویی سرنوشت من به تار مویی بند است و به‌هیچ‌وجه نمی‌دانستم اگر کارم را ادامه بدهم، چه اتفاقی برایم خواهد افتاد.

مثال دیگر:

When the storm started, we knew that our fates hanged by a thread.

وقتی که توفان آغاز شد، می‌دانستیم که سرنوشت ما به تار مویی بند است.


This post is part of a series on English idioms for Persian speakers. You can find the other entries under the tag [ #idioms-tutorial ].

Sort:  

After the loss, their chances of getting into the championships are hanging by a thread. Her life hung by a thread as medics rushed her to the hospital.

hang by a hair / hang by a thread

  1. висеть на волоске;
  2. зависеть от чего-то незначительного

I am hanging by a thread because I am driving car in heavy storm. Thanks @ghasemkiani.

The patient have survived the surgery process but his life is still hanging by a thread.

Her life hung by a thread as medics rushed her to the hospital.

His job is hanging by a thread after his demotion.

his life hanging by a thread after accident.

Your post is really great. I found it awesome. I like it. Thanks for sharing with us.

Criticism was unthinkable while our embryonic state hung by a thread.

We were confused when the storm started

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60065.47
ETH 2420.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46