A Throwback Post I Wrote for Iranian-Ameicans after the Travel (Muslim) Ban

in #persia7 years ago (edited)

Cyrus-TG-Map-1024x493.jpg

Yesterday I showed up to work looking like the angel of death. I hadn't been able to sleep all night after witnessing first-hand the horror that my people, as well as other innocent minorities, were put through; after being made aware of H.J.Res. 10, a bill that was introduced in the House just as the new Congress began earlier this month. Who introduced this bill you might ask? Rep Alcee Hastings (D-FL); a DEMOCRAT, mind you, and a disgraced former Federal District Judge who was removed from the bench by the Senate after he was convicted of eight impeachment articles, including one charging that he had conspired to obtain a $150,000 bribe.This bill authorizes the president to launch a pre-emptive war on Iran at any time of his choosing, and without any further Congressional oversight or input!!

I was so distraught. I couldn't shake off the thought of all my family and friends, my beautiful motherland with its rich culture and history, heir to one of the world's oldest civilizations dating back to 1000 BC (from from the time Iranian tribes settled the country of Iran to 550 BC when it was established as the Great Persian Empire), being bombed and destroyed like many of its neighboring countries. Our founder, Cyrus the Great, established the largest empire the world had ever seen, spanning 5.5 million kilometers; but that's not what made him or us great.

Cyrus declared the first Charter of Human Rights known mankind, respected the customs and religions of the lands he conquered, and initiated the general policy of permitting religious freedom throughout his domains. One prominent example of his just rule is when he permitted foreigners who had been forcibly settled in Babylonia to return to their lands, instead of holding them as slaves. This included the Jews of the Babylonian captivity, who were held there against their wills for over fifty years. Cyrus returned the sacred items that were stolen from them, and even donated money and goods for the rebuild of their temple in the holy city of Jerusalem. In fact, Cyrus is the only non-Jew to be called a Messiah in the Jewish Bible.

These are the human rights principles that mine, and my people's home country of Iran, were founded on. I don't think anyone needs reminding of the civil rights United States was founded on... in 1776.

Iran, the former empire, was attacked, conquered, and imperialized time after time due its location and resources, yet the people preserved their culture and language through it ALL. I’ll never forget this sign I read at a Black Lives Matter protest that read “a system cannot fail those it was never designed to protect”. It really affected me. Our home country has never been responsible for such extreme and widespread atrocities as slavery, nuclear attacks, and inhumane invasions based on interest. I am well aware of the violations of human rights under the Islamic republic, and I condemn those as much as any other. They still don’t measure up to America's though. Just a little back history for myself and others. For all the disheartened Iranians made to feel less- never forget the beautiful and just origins of our land, and the rich culture and history you come from!

Don’t get me wrong, I still love America and the American people to death and will do everything I can to protect it from threats foreign AND domestic. This country was made great by people like Lincoln and Roosevelt; by the likes of Martin Luther King and Susan B. Anthony; by all the leaders who fought to protect the rights of “We the People”.

We the People made this country the greatest country on earth, where I moved to willingly and proudly. Nothing can make me love this country any less, but the recent events have helped put things into perspective. I remembered where I come from, and how significantly amazing and rich that place and its history is; especially compared to America's. I realized that I was living in fool’s paradise. That injustice, misogyny, and persecution of innocent people exist everywhere- not just in Iran and among Muslims; the difference is that only those committed by my people, and other minorities, are shown on TV.

Yesterday I looked like the angel of death, but today I’ve got my hair and face done, all fired up and ready to fight for the America that welcomed me. The America that provided me with immeasurable opportunities to learn and prosper; to meet people from all over the world, and have my own cultural stereotypes shattered.

The Great America I don’t want subjugated to a dictator regime like the Great Persian Empire. Today I’m ready to go. Bring it on!

Sort:  

Congratulations @marvelousmia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58799.78
ETH 3205.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29