The Power of Convection – From Boiling Water to Drying Fruit

in #permaculture6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: The Power of Convection – From Boiling Water to Drying Fruit


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stortebeker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

GreaT PosT !! - ))

i LOVE to play with FirE !! - ))
" .. I believe this entire concept of heat convection is not utilized enough, giving us a number of good challenges to work on. " .. i can't agree MORE !!! .. and in the near FuturE .. i will be releasing a "DisCOVERy" .. that i've made, that will turn the 'energy industry' on its EAR !!! - )))
and .. i 'feel' YOU will "get it" .. straight OFF !!! - )))

.. thanks for being YOU !! - ))
(( BTW ... i've added you to my steem-auto-voter - )))
= looking forward to you're continued STEEM contributions !! - ))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

Thanks, I appreciate it. Would love to hear about your discovery. You got me curious...

.. and you will !! - ))
There is after all .. only 'one' infinity - ))
= there 'never' has been an "energy crisis" !!!
.. only strong 'belief' in .. limited reSOURCEs - ))

.. thanks for the reply - )))

Yes! A solar dehydrater is near the top of my to-build list.

I will be using your aluminum can idea, its brilliant and just the right material!

I wouldn't mind a few more pictures of the box and frame, maybe while you are building the next one ;p

Sure, the next time I build one (or any other thing for that matter) I'll make sure to take a bunch of pics with explanations and post them here. But the box itself is super straight forward: four sheets of plywood, plus the top and the bottom. I used the very cheap type of esquineros (don't know in English, corner squares?), you can see in the bottom left pic, but any other way of keeping them together works. Originally I also lined the inside edges with recycled styrofoam, but there was no need for that. They got loose, so I took them out and it works beautifully without. What the photos don't show you is that between the front wall and the bottom there's just enough space for the solar panel to fit in. That white stripe you can see on the outside (upper right pic) is a metal cover, with some styrofoam jammed in underneath, to make sure the air flows from the panel into the box. Notice also the holes on the top of the door (upper left pic) where the hot air can finally leave, having passed through the box. They are covered with a wire mesh, just like the bottom side of the panel, to keep insects from getting in. The roof, as you can see, is chafisimia, so I won't even get into explaining it. The 2x4s on the sides are purely structural, to keep the whole thing in place, as I didn't want to drill holes into that wall on the roof, covered in waterproof paint.

Five Gold Stars for you my friend. The first ever stove that I made was a smokeless stove. We were in a park that closed at dusk. I secured some tea containers about the size of #10 cans.

Cooking in a public park? I've been guilty of that myself on a few occasions. But building a smokeless stove from scratch, just on the fly, now THAT deserves respect. Good job, @aedroberts. Oh, and thanks for the gold stars! :-)

Good article. I've built a few of this kind of device and they work pretty well every time, convection is such a fundamental principle of physics that everyone should learn

Exactly, same as gravity-fed water, which in my opinion should also be utilized more....

you're right. These systems are all around us all the time, so we should spend a little time applying them. My favourite is siphoning. Get the hang of that and you rarely need electric pumps

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75