You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Permaculture: A Starting Point

in #permaculture7 years ago

Well, I'm sure you know how many people whose words and actions are one with a certain group or movement refuse to be part of them precisely because it is a movement. Which is fine, and I wouldn't tell them otherwise. (Not sure if this was Fukuoka's reason, in fact I didn't even know he distanced himself from Permaculture.) Still, I like to group them together with them, since that's what they essentially do: Cover-cropping rice with winter rye, building an ecosystem instead to keep pest and weeds in check instead of relying on chemicals, all this fits quite well together with Permaculture. Same goes for Schumacher. I've only read Small is Beautiful, but that book was very clearly Permaculture to me: appropriate size for machines, buildings, business ventures, anything. I should consider that book for a review too, but before I do there is another one I'm burning to write about: Sacred Economics by Charles Eisenstein.

Sort:  

Hi @stortebeker ! Thanks for the reply! Schumacher is the person who brought me to permaculture (through a book he contributed to along with Robert Hart, if memory serves). Never heard of Sacred Economics, though: will need to find it and read it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49