The Long Lost Art of Permaculture

in #permaculture7 years ago (edited)

Sustainability is important to me, and permaculture compliments that value perfectly. There is so much to be said about this philosophy. It encompasses many different studies all applicable to design. It’s an obvious solution to many problems we are encountering presently like soil erosion, deforestation, and waste mismanagement. It’s not only a solution, but I dare say it’s a necessity! Without sustainability the Earth would be totally and utterly fucked for the lack of a better word. Fortunately, Mother Nature is resistant to abuse, and recovers pretty quickly. Although, at the rate we are going it’s inevitable that our system will fail, unless we change our conventional ways of living.

Now, I’m not going to pretend that I’m an expert on the subject or that I’ve all the answers; I am still learning myself. One of the main points of this movement is the sharing of information. I will not be copy/pasting from a single source. I will be providing a collection of material I’ve gathered including my own input. The more accurate information I can share with you guys the better!

Mutually beneficial relationships are key in permaculture. Help me help you, so we can get this show on the road because it’s long overdue. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the term permaculture; it is defined many ways because it covers such a broad spectrum. To give you a basic understanding of what it means here is a flyer from one of Bill Mollison’s permaculture design courses.

“Permaculture (Permanent Agriculture) is the conscious design and maintenance of cultivated ecosystems which have the diversity, stability & resilience of natural ecosystems. It is the harmonious integration of landscape, people & appropriate technologies, providing good, shelter, energy & other needs in a sustainable way. Permaculture is a philosophy and an approach to land use which works with natural rhythms & patterns, weaving together the elements of microclimate, annual & perennial plants, animals, water & soil management, & human needs into intricately connected & productive communities.”

As he indicates, it is an approach which works with the gigantic powers of Earth rather than fighting against them, or even worse, exploiting them. We can all benefit from this understanding and application. Rather than digging ourselves a deeper hole to crawl out of we can cooperate and build a practical paradise.

A GINOURMOUS thanks to @gardenofeden and @quinneaker for the inpiration and knowledge shared by them. None of this would be possible without em! I plan to create a permaculture series here on Steemit with the help of @almiller going into the depths of this long lost art. Also, if anyone reading this feels they can provide additional information/advice, or if anyone has any questions you are more than welcome to comment. May we meet again soon!

Sources/Credit:
http://www.permaculture.net/about/definitions.html
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/392516923743348569/
http://winslowfoodforest.com/about/
https://phillypermaculture.com/
http://permaculturenews.org/

Sort:  

We would like to add your post to the @gardening-trail curating team for upvoting, but we need to confirm the images are yours. If you’re using images, quotes, or copied information from another source, cite those sources accordingly. If you use your own imagery, please let us know by adding a sentence in your post saying so.

You can read our full guidelines here. Thank you.

I've cited my sources correctly. Thank you for the reminder, and if you would like to add my post to the @gardening-trail that would be great.

Thank you! And please be aware that even though you give your sources, they should be public domain or have a license to use it in the form you are, like some of the Creative Commons licenses. Some of the Creative Commons licenses may require you to share alike, including with no monetary gain. Copyrighted images would require you to get permission. We really like seeing original images -- your context and experience. Steem on! Happy gardening!

Great! Thanks for all of the information. I will be sure to make any changes that will bring it up to par. I'll take all that in to consideration for my next post.

Grateful to share real life experience with those inspired to learn!

I've been blown away with the sheer amount of information gained through the @gardenofeden. Thank you to the moon and back. I'll be sure to incorporate a reference in the posts to come!

Permaculture will save the world. Great post!

Haha, yeah. It sure will, thanks!

Great post @rileychard. This is a great niche for you since you are gaining so much experience in permaculture and sustainability. I'm so glad that @quinneaker and the @gardenofeden have made such a great lasting and profound impact on your life. Keep sharing this valuable information on Steemit. This is a very important aspect of great change.

Awesome post. I love permaculture.

Great, there will be more to come very shortly

Amazing! You will do great things!

There is a great video about gardening and permaculture, it's called "Back To Eden" and you can see it for free at this link: "Back To Eden"

Cool. Thanks for the recommendation, I'll be sure to check that out.

Well done Riley. There needs to be more Permaculture on this platform! With our forces combined, we will make it happen!

I agree man! Spread the word

Hi I just joined and introduced myself, i am looking into self sustainability and found this article interesting so im going to follow you and hopefully i can take some of your advice. Thanks

That's great to hear my friend. Sustainability is a very important part of my life, so I'll be more than happy to share what knowledge I do have on it. I'd also recommend checking out @gardenofeden. We're one of the most sustainable eco-villages in the country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63700.42
ETH 3084.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83