You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Garden Dog: Man's Best Friend in the Permaculture System

in #permaculture7 years ago

I like your post, its a thought outside the box

I live in Indonesia and i can tell you a few ways dogs do fit into Permaculture designs

  • firstly dogs, unlike cats, dont need to eat meat. A vegetarian dog is possible. Jusy possible im not suggesting its ideal.
    This makes feeding a dog locally a lot easier. My dog eats rice, vegetables and egg, sometimes offal and fish.

  • dogs chase monkeys away. This is essential if you want any fruit

  • dogs scavenge. What dogs eat rats cant eat, and flies cant breed in. Dogs are an important cleaning service around villages

  • security. Self evident

Sort:  

Thank you for this, I totally agree. I've known in the past that dogs don't need meat consistently and my experiments with my own pets have shown me for sure. My dog regularly eats vegetarian and he never huffs at it. In fact, he loves raw carrots. Imagine the surprise on my mexican friend when he saw my dog take a whole carrot and nibble it to pieces. They'll eat anything if you let them haha

Haha

I have video of a cat that eats sweetcorn, off the cob.
Before that ive never seen cats eat starchy foods

I have in the past, just the cat I have now doesn't seem to want anything but meat. And fried potatoes only haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44