Why I Grow PlantssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #permaculture6 years ago (edited)

When I was a child, I would go out and hike the woods on summer days. I explored the paths of small creeks through thick woods. The trees had lots of vines growing on them and I would swing on the vines and climb high into the trees. But, I got older and mostly forget about the trees and plants. Until one day, decades having passed, I realized that I did not know how to grow plants from seeds.

Suddenly I felt this intense desire to grow my own food. I knew very little, and worse, I had convinced myself that I did not have much of a green thumb. But, my desire to grow plants was strong. At first, I was motivated by a kind of negative emotion: I felt vulnerable not being able to grow my own food.

But, soon enough I met some people who knew about plants and were excited about plants. The positive mental outlook of curiosity took hold in me. With fresh eyes, I saw that plants where all around me and I only had to inquire into their lives to be filled with know-how. Slowly, I arranged my life to learn about plants, how grow food, and how to appreciate more fully this deep connection that humans have with plants.

bee_in_the_borage_rounded.jpg

My theme here is that growing plants is worthwhile in many ways. Three benefits come to mind.

First, plants are living beings and as such are fascinating to get to know and to inquiring about them which further enables one to marvel at this impulse of life on the planet.

Second, growing food is a practical art. The seeding and weeding tones our bodies. The harvest nourishes us. The composting helps to cycle it.

Third, it appears that growing plants places one in a nature process. In our edible gardens, our hands get dirty, the clouds shower us with rain, the rabbit makes itself known, the bugs are crawling up-close, the mycillium hides beneath leaf clutter, the tools from far-away workshops define their value, the wind is an invisible force felt, the worms wiggle to escape the sun, and pollinators buzz upon the scene to visit the flowers. Growing food is a nurturing of connections.

So, cheers to those learning to grow plants. At times it is not easy. And, the learning never ends. Each season presents new challenges. But, take heart, the seeds know how to grow themselves. Knowing this, I just try to focus on being a good caretaker of connections.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68293.69
ETH 3899.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69