You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Indigenous Wisdom and Permaculture Convergence - Bryan Deans & How to Create a Better Future for the 7 Generations to Come

in #permaculture7 years ago (edited)

Such a fascinating concept to live by :

Each decision should take into account the 7 generations to come.
Live by a 300 year plan.

Over the past few years we have been planting trees here on our land. 11,000 now. What was once well trimmed sheep pasture is now just beginning its journey to forest.

I know I will not live to see it beyond its infancy but I know I have changed this small piece of the landscape of Wales. Every time a satellite passes over taking a new image for Google Earth I can feel happy that I have made what it sees below a little better for nature than the last time it came this way.

My children will hopefully live to see the forest on its way through puberty, and then their children in turn will see it begin to reach its adult splendour.

Towering above my baby forest is a mighty oak that I have just remeasured today to find that it is around 260 years old. Not quite 7 generations perhaps but it has watched over every generation of my ancestors that have lived here since the house was built in 1799.

I hope some of my 500 new warriors of oak will go on to guide the next 7 generations of my family. That will be my legacy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40