threshing grain by hand with a pillowcase - and some winnowing too

in #permaculture6 years ago

We're calling this the pillowcase threshing technique. The seedheads go in the pillowcase. Close the end with clothespins. Smash with gloved hands for about a minute. Do the twist for about a minute. Move into a bucket and winnow. Any seedheads that still have seeds get run through again.

Sort:  

howdy there paulwheaton! hey this is a pretty slick method of thrashing by hand that I've never seen before, it looks like it could be a little painstaking but for a hand operation I think it's pretty effective! great job.

As always, a cool video.

I'm wondering about growing some einkorn when the next season comes up. Not for a huge commercial crop, but a small batch to see how it does and to say I did it. Any idea how much space I'd need to get a few pounds of berries?

I am going to guess: a 20x20 patch

Ooh, that'll be perfect. I might be able to squeeze in a couple of em.

Also wanted to thank you for showcasing hugelkultur in your posts. I'm working now on my second small hugel bed, hoping it'll be ready soon.

Glad @nateonsteemit resteemed this. Fascinating @paulwheaton. Although maybe a bit of hard work to feed a very large family ;)

Which is why, long ago, grains were freaky expensive. Today, grains are super duper subsidized. So, yes, a diet that is not so high on grains would be easier to feed a large family.

Valid point

How long did it take you to process how much?

An hour produced about 2.5 gallons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71