Rewilding, Permaculture, Anthropology

Listening to @senorcoconut and @makinstuff on @meadowsandmakers today, rewilding came up.

Senorcoconut introduced me to rewilding when he interviewed me as a vendor with @homesteaderscoop. It's a hugely progressive step on my path, as it brings together permaculture, foraging, gardening, natural health, and a key missing part: anthropology.

Anyways, in the PAL chat, I found an opportunity to plug Toby Hemenway's Civilization Series of lectures. These have been big for me. I listened to the series at least ten times in the few-week interim between completing my listening to the Wise Traditions podcast and starting on Rewild Yourself from Daniel Vitalis. Of course, I drink up any relevant permaculture podcasts I can find too.

The Civilization Series consists of three lectures by Toby, all revolving around the agricultural history of humans. The first place I found all three was Diego Footer's old podcast called Permaculture Voices. Here they are on his site, you can also listen to them on whatever podcatcher you use:

PV143: How Permaculture Can Save Humanity and the Earth, but Not Civilization presented by Toby Hemenway

PV145: A Look at Agriculture, Horticulture, Permaculture: Why Agriculture Can Never Be Sustainable, and a Permacultural Solution with Toby Hemenway

PV148: Liberation Permaculture by Toby Hemenway

They help tie things together with the idea of a horticultural people. In Toby's words: more gardeners than farmers. And he does a lot of talking about first nations people and their inspiring and intimate work in the american forests. I believe there's a book about this called 1491, but I haven't looked into it yet.

This kind of thing is going to be paramount (listen up @jennislay) as we move forward from agriculture. As a few people have said, we're not moving backwards. That's not what society does. Looking back and learning from the past, before our newfangled, sedentary, technophilic civilization does not mean we're moving backwards. Just that we're being more mindful moving forwards.

Anyways. I'm out at the creek, about to hop in. There's some thought fragments to chew on. Anyone wanting to talk about this kind of stuff, I want to too. Hit me up on discord nateonsteemit#1247

All action for the good of all.

Nate.


Recent projects:
Sustainable Volunteering
The Holistic Church
Permaculture Chickens Fundition

coopbadgecontributor.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

video15501788461.gif
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!

If you'd like to support my projects beyond the upvote, please consider a crypto donation to the cause!

BTC:
1HXGAAddYNZz4YivHGDxgsN5YsvzXVHtaY
LTC:
M8sogv2rZVVeFyT96UgheGKZNqau9o4yCT
ETH:
0x8B3b8Ed907CfB63ddA941e42534969Cad022d67d
ZEC:
t1ZjMEF6qUTiYDf5a8RvN9U93bQ31SbPMeM
BCH:
qzuvwvfweqxge58475aqra65efj2yzad056vhzr3cz
ETC:
0xfA9851AeaC9D4f319b7679212389E3DdED9BC305
BAT
0xB70a3B8c2f8288E926fD1D03721f03D9128a726B
ETN
etnkMMQGh32cdcrWpMpjipNXxVMyxg9dx3CvSB6epQjNALcfUhVrMqyDTnmcVHcprPBkFZPj7xeCxdsrtU5mRn699G5y7hqpY5

Some of these are exchange addresses so that I'll get notifications of deposits. From there, the funds will either be moved to wallets that I control, exchanged for steem to boost my influence here, or to USD to fund a project.

Buying crypto with fiat? Consider using my coinbase referral link and we'll both get $10 in Bitcoin for free when you buy it sell $100 worth of crypto! An automatic 10% return is a good hedge in bear markets.

Sort:  

Hey thank you so much Nate 😁! I will have to bookmark this post so I can listen later to Hemingway. I'm definitely there with Not moving backwards... but for sure learning from our past!

He also wrote two books. Gaia's Garden (his most popular book, and a quintessential guide to urban permaculture), and The Permaculture City, a lesser known guide for societal change. I look forward to hearing what you learn and talking with you about his ideas!

Posted using Partiko Android

Heehee thanks again for those guides... I am hooked on the Wise Traditions podcast, I am obsessed with finding real mill now!!!

But I will have a listen soon for sure

Great post thanks for sharing! Rewilding is where the name wild homesteading came from. It was based on this idea I had to flip traditional homesteading from being about going into the wild and taming it (old homesteading mindset from the homesteading act time period in the United States) to instead bring the wild back to our homesteads. By doing so I believe you get a lot of benefits beyond helping nature. Rewilding is really at the core of what wild homesteading is meant to be.

Glad you got introduced to the concept! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

What a great concept, I love that name too. I was wondering about growing veggies and sort of forcing them to go wild in some way. But anyway, I like the idea of bringing the wild back to our homestead 😁.

Thanks! Perennial vegetables are a great option. There are some great more wild types.

Posted using Partiko Android

This year we got turned on to wild purslane and lambs quarter, I see them every where now of course!

Great post I have only recently got into the notion of rewinding and sign up to a British site but have not found any podcasts so thanks for these another to get deeply into, not enough hours in the day. 💯🐒

True... we all only have 24 hours in the day. I jist figured out that we can listen to these podcasts in higher speeds! Been listening to em 1.5x faster and it's suprisingly easy to get used to it.

I will have to try it thanks for the tip 💯🐒

Never enough hours! I'm lucky I work in a fairly independently operating department where I'm able to listen to podcasts all day while I work. When they outsource us, I'll be in a place where that won't be an option.

Posted using Partiko Android

I could listen at work but i'm in and out of the office a lot and also struggle to concentrate on listening and work to be honest! Music is fine but talking I just can't for some reason. I listen at home mainly considering on my phone but just don't like to much usage of the phone really 💯🐒

But you'll also have the option to put yourself in a place of abundance... it'll be time to put all those skills and wisdoms you're cast learning to the test!

I might listen to these on the way to work. Must also listen to @senorcoconut.

First heard of concept via @miuntainjewel. Strikes me we have many fancy names for things these days. We SHOULD be looking at past for the future... not that we always take heed. Scattering dandelion seeds this week... Noels. Its raining and when the sun comes out my garden is gonna be as wild as my green heart.

Posted using Partiko Android

They're great! As are the other podcasts I mentioned lol. Just tell your kids to start listening to podcasts in ever class. The world will get better. No more reading old stuffy books lol

Posted using Partiko Android

OY!!! Watch it you. Books rule.

But podcasts let you do work whilst you are listening. Like gardening and driving and stuff. Driving and reading is bad.

🤣

I love books. Can't wait til reading season, but I can listen to podcasts sixty hours a week a lot easier than I can read sixty hours a week.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, totally here you! And often you get more value out of a podcast too, it's kinda inspiring as you listen to other people's enthusiasms and interesting lives! Sometimes I can only read a chapter at once and let it digest before reading more.

haha I love the "OY!"... you may be in trouble now nate 😂

oooh scattering dandelion seeds!!! Awesome. That brought image in my head of you hopping around the first couple zones around your house throwing handfulls of seeds up in the air like at a wedding or something!

Hey @nateonsteemit! You've got me all enthused again with these wonderful podcasts -thanks for sharing!
I feel real fortunate that I moved into the wild and built our homestead in a natural pine meadow. Now I try to have my gardening enhance nature although I do still fall back into my old gardening methods with garden patches and my annual veggie crops.
It's kinda nice to know that when I leave this place the forest will just take over leaving only my metal roofs and such!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84