Sort:  

Yeah: i think timing can be important for pruning. (I actually know very little about that stuff)

Googling. I just cut a giant limb off one of our pine trees the other day. Hope I didn't kill it lol

Hmm interesting. Id like to know what you find out. Is there a temperature range for pruning pine there? I believe you need to do it in spring here to prevent the tree from bleeding.

I was supposed to do it in late winter for full domancy... Not mid spring.

Whoops.

AH, yeah reading about it here says that we ought to do it winter to early spring. But it's a fair bit warmer there than here.
On a brighter note: I noticed that historically people have used the sap to heal wounds.
-also - in Sweden I spoke with a cook (actually spelled and pronounced kock, which made for an interesting time when he told me what he did for work!) he told me that they make a jam from the baby needles. that's an acquired taste, but amazing once it is. I dunno - I hope that some of this might be useful to ya.

Yeah, it's late spring weather here. Frost danger is gone and the trees are finishing up pollen season. I'm going o plant the rest of everything else this weekend.

I doubt the tree will die, but it's good to know there's a right season for pruning. That season is shortly after the season to start laying down a food forest bed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65