Always be ready to plant. Always have a full nursery. Especially in hot and dry climates.

in #permaculture7 years ago (edited)

DSC_0290.JPG

Always be ready to plant.

Throughout my Permaculture Design Course (PDC) from last year I learned over and over again, that it is very important to have a ready to plant nursery. Especially here in the mediterranean climate I am living it is highly recommendet. The dry season is long and no planting can be done during that time. But right after the dry season with the first rain all plants go into the ground, to have as much time as possible to adapt in the wet soil, before they face the first stessful phase of their life throughout their first summer with strong light, strong heat and most likely almost no water.
In even more arrid climates where the big rain is less foreseeable it is even more cruicial to have all plants from the shade house ready to go to be planted the day after the rain. No excuses allowed!

My propagation station.

So I have been preparing for that first planting and have been growing my nursery for half a year now. I made several baby steps, as I wanted to go through as much seeding and cuttings processes as possible. Only 3 plants are bought or lets better say „rescued“ from a gardening center. These are a fig, a hazel nut whip and a plum whip.

Seedling.

What I am most proud of are these avocado and mango seedlings. All „hatched“ myself and most of them went through. One mango out of eleven mangos and avocados died after being transplanted to the shade house and a second mango shows strong signs of weekness. I was using normal round plastic pots that I even bought cheaply from a local nursery, yet by now I know that air pruning of the roots is very important for trees that will be transplanted and for future trees I will change my strategy.

DSC_0198.JPG

All seeds where germinated wrapped in wet paper towel or toilet paper and put into a closed plastic bag. The germination rate was 100%. I saw that technique on youtube somewhere and will never go back for big seeds like the ones from mango and avocado.

2017-09-20 13.47.53.jpg

Cuttings.

Here you see my cuttings. All of these cuttings are from nitrogen fixers, very important players in a Permaculture orchard. On the left you see Senna multiglandulosa (often called cassia multiflora) and on the right Coronilla glauca. The one in the middle did not take off. I think I did not understand the plants structure right and probably only planted the leaves… Oups. All cuttings are grown in pure sharp river sand that is inocculated with pure worm-bin leachate. Apparently it works brilliantly. For the two species I handled rigth again 100% sucess.

DSC_0287.JPG

DSC_0288.JPG

DSC_0289.JPG

Last but not least you see my matrix of Platanus. These ones are hammered right into the ground of our land. Time will show how they will do. Upon growth initiation they will be placed in their destination spot. A few months ago they did the 8 year cicle pollarding of gigantic Planatnus trees on a square of a neighbouring village. By chance I had my prunders with me and took several branches with me. Why am I interested in platanus? Wait for my article on our Rocket Mass Heater. I just love to burn this wood and they do really well with pollarding and coppicing.

DSC_0280.JPG

As always thanks for listening.
Moritz

Sort:  

You must live in the perfect place to grow fruits- how amazing to grow a mango!

Hey @pumpkinsandcats. I just published an article on how I germinate my mango seeds. Its soooooo easy! Drop by if your interested as it works on any window bench with a bit of sunlight and warmth per day.

Haha. The mediterranean climate is truely a magic climate! ;)

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably.

I also run competitions for those making the world a better place. Check out this weeks reducing plastic competition here

I just found out about you as this very post is part of your actual competition. I am very happy to take part and will follow along!

Which pdc did you take? I'm currently doing the regenerative.com course, I'm not overly impressed with it, but have had some good info.

I took the Geaoff Lawton online PDC 2.0. A fabulous formet with endless information dosed carefully every week over more than 6 months with Geoff and other teacher assistants engaging in comment sections uder every video and weekly Q&A, plus a very active group of students on a private facebook group. It worked extremely well for me. I will probably post my final design exercise here on steemit once.

Congratulations @my-permaculture! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44