You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beyond Biotecture. The Evolution of Earthships (EcoKnowme)

I certainly think the composting toilet and personal biogas generators are a must. But I'm back and forth on the use of "garbage" being reused to build my home. Don't get me wrong, I work at an architectural salvage yard, I'm all about reuse but I'm also not sure I'm okay using some of the things like tires and plastics in my home. The off-gassing for one.
I got the chance to visit the home of Robert & Paula Laporte in Ashland, Oregon, and it was breathtaking. All Natural materials with wood frame and earthen floors. I can't even describe what it felt like in that house. Perfect peace, protection from the turbulence of the outside world. But after speaking with them I was a bit unconvinced about some parts of the earth-ship idea. (Of course that's just me)
Great links though and lots to think about. When we finally find some land to build on we'll be taking all of this to heart.

Sort:  

I feel you. The tires thing was an issue for me too, until I saw a presentation about how these concerns were studied by various groups as Earthships were taking off in popularity. Off gassing is not an issue so long as the tires are covered, which the mud and plaster does nicely. Plus there is the THERMAL Mass benefit, which is incomparable to any other material you would use... even Rammed Earth can't reach that density...you'd have to build something like a tire to hold that much mass in such a small space. The plastic bottles also have no off gassing issue if they are encased in mud or cement, which is the primary way people use them (botanical cells to cut down on cement). The plastics may be more valuable as free material for recycling, upcycling, 3d printing or making fuel in the present/future..... Glass bottles however, are just pretty when done nicely. I agree for the most part, more Natural materials should be prioritized first, but there are some things you can do with tires that are near impossible to do with other materials. In my case, I don't have tire walls, but a tire retaining wall is the support for the whole house, which is cob/timber(without that, my house would slide off the mountain, masons are also hit and miss here). Biotecture is applicable to all buildings, but I think once the principles are understood, the ideas can be expanded and evolved upon. Thanks for the comment @jayjayjeffery ! One way or another, we will come up with ways to deal with the waste of society, this is just one option. Cheers @ecoknowme

Thanks for the good response. I wondered if that was the case with the tires and bottles once they were covered but had never read any actual testing done about it. And I've never been in an "earth ship" only very eco homes. I really do have to make a trip to visit one and see what it feels like inside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67878.14
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64