Permaculture Plants: Thimbleberries - My Favorite Berry!

I was pleasantly surprised yesterday to find my first thimbleberries of the year!

Rubus parviflorus is my favourite berry, a little like a wild raspberry, and a bit tart. They are only available during a short window in July, and are very fragile, so must be eaten or processed right away. If I can pick enough, I freeze them or cook them down into a freezer jam - but I usually just graze on them. They hold a special place in my heart, as I have fond childhood memories of picking them while hiking down to the beach with my folks.

They are native to Cascadia, and grow in forest edges, where there is dappled light and the ground is moist, where you might find maples. Bees like their big, white flowers in late spring. The plant is tall with large soft leaves, and is prickle free. The young shoots can be eaten, though I've never tried it. They can grow quite tall - these are taller than me with some canes over 6'. Although not really an ornamental, I think they are a gentle, pretty plant when in a clump. A protector of sorts.

I grew this patch from roots a client wanted ripped out. They start as a clump, and spread by underground runners, so may need to be pulled back to control their spread. However, in my case, because I like them so much and they seem to be thriving here I'll be encouraging them!

More cool plant info to come! https://www.facebook.com/deeprootsogs/

Sort:  

Congratulations @janamclaughlin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

So yummy but a bit more work compared to other berries. But well worth the effort. Once you get your fill, maybe you can share some runners on here. I just saw a new thing called @steemshop who knows? maybe we will be able to sell things as easily as on craigslist, but without having to leave Steemit. Not only could one get paid for content, but actual goods and services! Online consultation for Steem or perhaps just some seeds. I guess what I'm getting at is, I would like some berries too! lovely post @janamclaughlin ! I will have to content myself with the wild orange coloured raspberry and groundcherry that grow here instead!

Oh they are less work! No canes to cut back, no trellising....

Where are you again? Can't send live material into the US. Seeds are usually ok.

Thanks for the steemshop info, I hadn't heard of that one yet. There's also https://www.peerhub.com/.

Asia currently. Will checkout peerhub, thanks @janamclaughlin ! Maybe if I am in Canada we can trade sometime. cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76