You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Permaculture, Homesteading, and Community Building // An Overview of the Healing Herb Comfrey

in #permaculture7 years ago

Ooooh! That's so cool about the compost piles Anwen. I just redid my father's non very well functioning piles this month.

He lives in Montana, East of the divide where it's quite dry, and he was using chicken wire silos that weren't very large because he heard they needed heat and air. Only it's so dry here, they barely did anything, mostly just dried up.

I built a larger wooden slated 3 sided box, about 6 feet by 4 feet, and piled everything in there with a bunch of chicken manure. I've got him watering it on a regular basis and we throw a couple pieces of plywood over the top to loosely keep the sun off.

It's working great! When i thrust my arm down in there the other day it was too hot to keep my hand in!!

I'm pretty happy about it. Thanks for your post. I'm excited you're posting about it this stuff! My gf is into plants and Permaculture too, I'm trying to get her on here =)

Sort:  

That's awesome @itchykitten! It sounds like you knew exactly what those compost piles needed to get kickstarted again :-) I have a similar set up with my compost bins that I made out of recycled wood. I just made a pile two days ago and it's already at 150F! I hope your gf joins Steemit, I'd love to see some more posts about permaculture and farming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35