You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Permaculture, Homesteading, and Community Building // Harvesting Herbs for the Indigenous Wisdom & Permaculture Skills Convergence

in #permaculture7 years ago

Great info. I have a question. I am trying to grow rosemary, but I am even farther north than the gathering in South Dakota. I know you are in the Bay area, so you have an entirely different climate, but do you have any info on speeding the growth? I'm afraid that by the first frost in September, my rosemary will still be too small to be much use. I currently have it growing in a 5 gallon container. Any tips would be great!
Joe

Sort:  

Hmm maybe try feeding it with some worm castings or some green manure (soaked comfrey) to speed up leafy growth? Also rosemary doesn't like to stay wet so making sure that it has plenty of drainage in the 5 gallon container, and keeping it in a full sun area. It may just need another season to get big enough to harvest though! You can propogate rosemary by taking 7 inch cuttings and sticking these cuttings in pots, and they will form into new plants, that way you'll have more plants to harvest from!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46