Build a 3-bin pallet compost system

in #permaculture7 years ago

Building a 3-bin palet compost system has been on my list of projects since I realized how difficult it would be for me to compost in my apartment. Luckily, I have a client who wanted to start composting for his live fence of trees. Even better, this client had a lot of pallets waiting to be used. I made some sketches, gathered my resources and set to work.

IMG_3112.JPG

The area I was going to build on was pretty rough and uneven, so I leveled out the ground.

IMG_3117.JPG

Once the ground was level and even, I staged my pallets to get the placement right.

IMG_3118.JPG

After removing the back and side pallets I stapled fencing wire to the bottom pallets. This step is not strictly necessary, but my client wanted to keep the bunnies from migrating out from under the wood pile and into the compost. With base pallets and wire we're hoping the bunnies keep clear.

IMG_3120.JPG

With my bunny wire secure I began to assemble the sides and back. I screwed the back pallet to the base pallet, then the side and back together. Repeating these steps I had a sturdy 3-bin compost system!

IMG_3128.JPG

I added a smaller pallet for a removable door got my first load in and soaked. I'll continue adding to this pile, keeping it wet and aerated until I have some black gold ready for the garden!

IMG_3134.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I think this will be a fun project to follow! I hope we can get an update so we can see it in action!

Thanks! I'm looking forward to sharing future projects on steemit.

Hi! Found you from the homestead friend train and thought I'd pop over to say hi!

Been thinking about making something like this, but I think my waste is much higher and may need a bit larger of a system! Still throwing that idea around...

Thanks for checking me out!

The great thing about this system is that city can easily fit it to your own needs. Only need one bin? Less work for you! Need more space? Make a double sized bib system!

We're only limited by our imagination.

Congratulations @garykainz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66