You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Permaculture, Homesteading, and Community Building // An Overview of the Healing Herb Comfrey

in #permaculture7 years ago

great post! thanks for sharing... maybe i need to get some growing in my garden, too.

The B12 fact really got me interested. Do you have any suggestions on how to integrate comfrey into the diet?

Sort:  

Thanks @fraenk! I'd definitely recommend growing comfrey in almost any garden (and there are very few plants I'd say that about). Well, some people eat comfrey or make comfrey tea, however as I wrote in my post "There is controversial research about the pyrrolizidine alkaloids in comfrey being carcinogenic and damaging to the liver, therefore there is a ban in the US on orally ingested comfrey products", so I'd definitely do more research about that. It seems as though the alkaloid is not present in dried comfrey, so perhaps by drying the comfrey and using it in tea? I'd trust your own research and body though!

Thanks for the extensive answer @anwenbaumeister.

I'll make sure to make some of my own research before considering it in my diet. But the compost tea idea alone has convinced me to grow some... just got to get my hands on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36