How I started growing my own food (Part 2) - No-Dig Garden Beds

in #permaculture7 years ago (edited)

Dear readers,

In my last post about permaculture I was telling you why and how I’ve decided to grow my own food at home.

I believe that access to fresh and healthy food might become a problem in the near future. We pollute and destroy our planet and slowly poison ourselves by eating pesticide sprayed foods. Many of us don’t really have a choice, because it’s just what we get in our local supermarkets. Organic produce can be quite pricey, so is not always an option for those with less financial resources.

My goal was to finally know exactly what I’m putting in my mouth, and to become as independent as possible from the large agro industry.

I don’t want to be a slave of that system anymore.


But growing plants in buckets as I was doing on my balcony, wasn’t going to be enough in order to achieve that goal. I had to think bigger.


The property on which I live is huge, and several fruits such as banana, plantain, coconuts and pineapple already grew naturally here. However, there was a lot of space that wasn’t being used to grow anything, and was just grass. Green lawns are such a waste of space in my opinion. Just think about all the food you could grow instead of just having empty space. It's like having a 5 bedroom apartment, and living by yourself!

Most people focus on ornamental plants in their garden, and do not know how beautiful fruit and vegetable plants can be. These also flower, but in addition to their pretty colors, they also happen to feed you! Look at the beautiful eggplant flower below.

eggpplant.jpg

Back to my garden… I asked my landlord if he would allow me to grow veggies on his lawn, and to my surprise, he was more than enthusiastic about it. This was great! Now I had a whole space the size of a basketball field to experiment with!

empty space_Fotor.jpg
Here's the space I get to play around with

My goal is to eventually turn this entire space into a food forest, but I still have a long way to go.

Then came the time to decide which type of garden beds I was going to use, and which materials I was going to need to build it. Remember that permaculture principles are all about reusing waste to create something new that has value (also called upcycling), so my husband and I decided to use tree trunks that were lying around to form the edges of our beds.

We implemented no-dig beds using the lasagna method (see below).


  • Since I was starting on a grass lawn, I had to suffocate the grass first. The way to do that is to put cardboard over it. The grass will be deprived of light and oxygen, and decompose (remember, cardboard is carbon), which will already start feeding your soil. My soil is extremely dense red clay, so I needed to really work on improving the quality of my soil before I could start growing anything.

carton_Fotor.jpg
putting card board over grass to suffocate it

  • The second layer is nitrogen (greens). My husband and I went to the local veggie stores here in Bocas del Toro, and asked them to give us anything they would normally throw away. One person’s waste is another person’s treasure, and to our amazement, we received huge bags full of “gold”.

Not only did I realize how much of that natural fertilizer would end up in landfills instead of compost bins, but also how much GOOD food was among the trash. I rescued more than 20 perfectly fine carrots, countless chayote and peppers from the bags. My husband and even I joked about making a “garbage salad” that evening.

Here we go, permaculture was already feeding us for free, even before even growing anything!

Unfortunately our society is still very ignorant when it comes to realizing how much we throw away, even if it could still feed entire families. Finding all this edible food was a huge eye opener for me.

If you don’t have access to a local veggie store, you can also use grass clippings, and anything green.

  • The 3rd layer will be a brown one (carbon) again, and we opted for wood chips. Bare in mind that all these layers will decompose to create compost, and give an initial nutrient boost to your soil. They will attract earthworms, and make the upper layer of your soil softer as a result. When you plant something new, it’s important that you do it in loose soil, as the fragile little roots will not be able to penetrate hard soil.

  • And finally, as the final layer of our lasagna, we got some black soil from locals who sell this here in Bocas. Permaculture principles would require you not to buy anything, but we needed to get at least some dark soil in order to jump-start our garden.

Here's a great instructional video about how to create a no-dig garden bed:

I wish I had documented our process more thoroughly, but this was way before I joined Steemit, so I didn’t really have an incentive to do so.

We created our 3 garden beds in a C shape, as it would allow us easy access in the middle and around the edges to control it better, and avoid stepping on the soil. Below you'll see a photo of the first finished garden bed.

garden bed.jpeg

The first garden bed, we called it the magic bed, because we didn’t have to plant anything! Since we used the organic waste from all sorts of fruits and veggies, stuff just started growing on its own, and we followed the growth process with great curiosity. We didn’t know what was going to come out of it, and it was so much fun to see what we had as time passed by. Our “surprises” included tomatoes, papaya, watermelon, melon and cucumber.

magic bed.jpeg
our magic bed with melon, water melon, spinach,
edamame and cucumber growing in it

The other beds were a little more planned, especially the largest one, where I wanted to grow pumpkin and squash, since they need a lot of space to grow.

pumpkin.jpg

Here are some pictures of the first veggies and fruits that we harvested, and I will leave you guys here for now. I’m in the process of revamping my garden beds and plant new stuff, and I promise to properly document all the steps it this time around, including how I plant the seedlings and how I transfer them in the garden.

Stay tuned!

Collage_Fotor.jpg
one of the pumpkins that started growing in the large bed

As usual, I look forward to your comments/advice and questions below =)

Banner.jpg

Sort:  

I don't think it is ignorance it's just about what you need or wish to spend your time doing. A lot of people are so busy working to support families, or live in place where something like this is impossible even to contemplate. Good on you for showing what is possible.

I was referring to throwing away food that is still good to eat, when I talked about ignorance. I agree that most people, especially in cities, will not have the means or space to do this. Here in Panama it's a different story, because most people (even the poor) have a yard where they could grow their food.

No till gardening is where it's at!

Ah yes! On one hand, someone could look at the fact that you are spending countless hours and dollars to grow something you can pick up at the store around the corner for a couple bucks. For me, it is cathartic, I don't count on society always being intact, and I have little girls who need to learn to grow and nurture things.

So, this spring, I am building a row of garden boxes to plant herbs and veggies. My problem will be making them rabbit proof as there are SO MANY RABBITS around here.

Another neat thing would be to decorate with edible flowers! Nasturtium, clendula, and pansies are good to start.

I love your project and am looking forward to seeing how it turns out in the long run as well.

it's true it takes time, but it's also a hobby so it's not something I consider work =). I didn't really spend money on it. I did have to buy some black soil, but other than that nothing at all. All the seeds I started out with came from the piles of organic waste we got at the veggie store, and from our own food scraps. I will document everything better form now on as I have to start over again and plant new stuff =)

How beautiful! Congratulations on such an abundant garden.

Home grown veggies are the best ❤️❤️

That's a great idea. I'm glad you're doing something you love by growing your own food. It's cool that you don't have to dig. You will be eating extremely clean. You have an awesome lifestyle!

thank you =). It's addictive too! Once you plant stuff you kind of become obsessed with its progress, it's funny

Growing your own is satisfying on so many levels. You're doing well

yes it is, indeed! It makes me very proud =). Thanks for stopping by!

we are also practicing growing our own food in our home garden. Your's is very nice. thanks for sharing them

that's great! =) what are you growing?

We have been growing vegetables in our yard since we were kids. However, pests won't let us grow most now that even chayotes grow stunted and withered that we stopped growing them.

oh no, that's awful! I've had a hard time with Chayote too...it starts well and then it dies, I have no idea why...

I hope you can figure it out. I love chayotes. Now that we can't grow them, I miss eating them anytime I want. I can still do it but I have to buy them.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 72 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @evecab! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83