You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is how we Bookashi pt. 2

in #permaculture6 years ago

Sadly the loss of animals is the really bad part of homesteading. I have cried many tears over our "pets". Saying that I would rather bond with them and have many happy years interacting and working compatibly than not. As far as the end goes....Each to his own. My husband is the guy that has to put them down. It's a very difficult call to make. When it's old livestock I know a lot of people just eat them. Mine get buried. I can't eat a pet, as they do become part of the family.

Sort:  

I currently can only imagine.. I wonder if people with aquaponics experience similar difficulties. Depends on the person perhaps..?
I can eat raw vegetables hand picked and raised from our garden, and don't think much of it. This is different.

You mean as far as the fish are concerned? I think it definitely gives you a healthy respect and appreciation of that animal. It also creates more balance. More awareness. I find those that raise and slaughter their own animals are far less greedy about meat that they eat. It'll be a healthy serving of salads and veggies with a small portion of meat. The western world today eat far too much meat. Here in South Africa we have an expression which is sadly true. It basically means that we just eat meat and rice or potatoes. And veggies are different. I appreciate what we harvest but I don't feel guilty - or we would probably starve!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78