You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Master Quote: Toby Hemenway – 02/22/18

in #permaculture6 years ago

That's good to know. I suppose it depends on what its made from. Here its usually made of hardwood, and is usually about 8 to 8.5 on the PH scale before integration. It certainly isnt ideal to broadacre spread because of its dry alkalinity.

Sort:  

I always rinse mine, but for non-agricultural reasons.

I use the lye water for stripping/tanning hides.

The near 7.0 pH char is just a very valuable by-product for me :)

Damn sure stabilizes soil and holds nutrients.

I tend to use scrap softwoods

So you actually wash the lyes out of the char and leave almost neutral carbon? That’s an interesting point.

I rinse it when I need lye water for hide processing. At that point i add it directly on the garden.

If i don't need lye water, I add it to the composting process for 3 to 6 months.

The biologics in the compost process tend to moderate the alcalinity for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75