You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Performance and Scalability Updates

in #performance7 years ago

Thank you for communicating.

I appreciate how you are working around the clock, but I also expect communication when something that was working stops working. For the past couple of weeks, for many including me, Steemit has become almost unusable. Before that, it was functional. Something changed, but I don't know what because there's no technical communication about the issues. If those issues are so sensitive that communicating about them would provide real attack vectors, that's security by obscurity which is concerning.

I'm glad you have metrics in place giving you visibility on the time it takes for transactions from the browser to hit your servers. Does that include logging of browser errors? Due to the complexities of JavaScript-based front ends, I imagine tracking the things which time out and never make it to your server is quite difficult. If you do have that visibility, but it hasn't been a priority to discuss until now, that's also quite frustrating. Communication takes time away from development, sure, but it's critical for building trust with this community. I believe it's really important, not something to get to two weeks later. Many share my position on the value of communication and why it should be prioritized higher than it has been in the past. IMO, this post has a theme of "We're working on it" but not much of a "We're sorry for letting you down." Maybe you don't feel an apology is needed, but I think it would have been helpful here. The frustration many of us have had trying to use the site is quite high and though you may know that intellectually, the data shows you can't fully know it experientially. Or if you can, I'm not sure how.

I ran some SQL queries on the steem database to see how often the Steemit, inc team has published comments and posts since the DDoS attack. They are not encouraging numbers. As a SaaS software developer myself, I really strongly believe in eating your own dog food. I hope the team prioritizes this to fully feel what users are feeling along with seeing the data and the metrics in reports. As I've experienced bugs using my own software, I've found it motivates me quickly to prioritize and fix them.

Illustration: Have you ever been on a wifi connection that kind of works but not really? That's really, really frustrating. It's hard to explain how frustrating to people unless they've experienced it. When I talk about the emotional frustration and feelings of the community, it's like that. I hope the steemit team decides to prioritize using the site more often to get that same experiential knowledge.

I imagine you're all under a lot of stress to get things done prior to Steemfest2. I hope you get plenty of rest and meet and exceed your goals. Many of us believe in you, while many others have lost faith and are vocal about their bitterness. My previous post on this topic wasn't meant to troll or be accusatory as I was trying to speak in terms of facts and bring helpful solutions. I hope this comment will be received well. I really do want you to succeed, and I want the community's experiences to be fully validated and appreciated.

Thank you. I look forward to meeting you all in Lisbon.

Again, thank you for communicating. I hope it continues as we see improvements in site performance.

Sort:  

Please remember Mr Luke Stokes it is important to have table manners even when eating your own dog food.

I hope you can see I'm putting in a real effort into communicating seriously and honestly about the frustration I see in this community directed at Steemit, inc. If I've been rude or offensive, I apologize as that's not my intention. If you think I have been, please address it directly because your response here doesn't make sense to me.

I was hoping for a more serious reply.

@ned, do you think eating your own dog food is important?

Loading...

btw...Luke, I felt that your comment was done in completely good spirit, and was very on point. I really appreciate everything you had to say. Especially this.

Communication takes time away from development, sure, but it's critical for building trust with this community. I believe it's really important, not something to get to two weeks later. Many share my position on the value of communication and why it should be prioritized higher than it has been in the past. IMO, this post has a theme of "We're working on it" but not much of a "We're sorry for letting you down." Maybe you don't feel an apology is needed, but I think it would have been helpful here. The frustration many of us have had trying to use the site is quite high and though you may know that intellectually, the data shows you can't fully know it experientially. Or if you can, I'm not sure how.

There's absolutely no reason Steemit Inc can't afford to have someone on constant communication. Not doing so is suspiciously incompetent. I'm not trying to be mean, but come on...you have 40% of the STEEM, which is barely short of 100 million USD in highly liquid assets. It's going to cost what $60k a year to get a great communications person?

They don't have to expose attack surfaces in order to be in conversation with the rest of the platform on a daily basis.

Please remember Mr Luke Stokes it is important to have table manners even when eating your own dog food.

Also @Ned, I dropped $60k USD of my own money into Steemit because I believe in it...and NOTHING in the last year has made me feel more hesitant it's future then the way you just responded to Luke Stokes, who was giving you some pretty solid feedback.

@bellyrub loves you!!

Sheesh keep up the great work, it shows you are devoted to steemit!!

This platform will continue to thrive.

@ned, @lukestokes said nothing rude to you. I'd like to know what you took offense to.

I haven’t taken offense. I am pointing out how inefficient, arguably inconsiderate and difficult it is for a platform to respond to incredibly myopic, incessant arguments. Refutation of myopic arguments requires myopic counter arguments and it’s a terrible use of resources. It’s the ultimate squeaky wheel problem and I explain this below.

A new SMT has been created in your name: ExcuseCoin care of SteemIt Inc. (STINC)

Hey @ned Can you please delegate me some power.

Good manners have much to do with emotions, to make them ring true one must truly feel them, not merely exhibit them.

Unprofessional response, clearly missing the point.

Unprofessional response, clearly missing the point.

This looks a lot like an insult, but I hope it isn't.

@ned Fixed up the Downvote for you.

accidental double post, flagging for visibility

And that reply from @ned says it all. We're all an experiment for a bunch of Douschebags...

As a SaaS software developer myself, I really strongly believe in eating your own dog food.

👍👍👍

I'll try to say this as respectfully as I can...

These changes have been deployed to production for several days now, and we have seen a dramatic improvement in the efficiency of read requests from the Steemit website to the blockchain to retrieve data.

Perhaps this may partially be attributed to the fact that so many could not get a post or vote through, and after numerous attempts many people likely just gave up.

On the plus side, there are a bunch of alternative condensers (STEEMIT's front-end) that have popped up as backups, so if there are continued problems with STEEMIT's website, at least people have the choice of still interacting with the STEEMIT blockchain via the interface they're already familiar with.

If you do use an alternate condenser however, make sure it's hosted by a community member you trust. And as an additional precaution, it's best to sign in using only your POSTING key.

And with that, please pass the Bordeaux! :)

Exactly! I started here a couple of months ago and I've become thoroughly addicted! Lately, this platform has been unusable!

I'm sure the Devs are working hard to resolve the issues, but is it too much to ask for one "State of the State" post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65