You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Performance and Scalability Updates

in #performance7 years ago

Thanks alot for the update ! It really is much appreciated! Being a computer science guy myself i can totally understand that you want to fix all the things and move forward at maximum speed. In the end this is what is making this idea great so for sure we as user base are supporting this to a 100%. Nevertheless you can do the one and a bit of communications as well, this keeps us from wondering what in the ivory tower may happen right now :)
Thanks manyfold for that update
and may the gods of code always have mercy :)

Yours Jan

Sort:  

Every commit on every branch to condenser, jussi, steemd, et c - it’s all on github in public repos. Even all of our discussion on issues and backlog. There is no ivory tower.

github == ivory tower for 95% of our community

(95% is my conservative estimate)

Spot on! Github is for the techies amongst us; good Product Management's job is to explain to all those none-techies the situation and keep them engaged while the problems are worked on and solved. No Github shall play a role in such presentation/communication to those none-techies and never ever shall be assumed Github and more of that technical stuff is the source to go to for anybody in the community. That just tells me that Steemit INC is not aware of the real world. That worries me a lot!

Precisely. That 95% of people that you estimate won't understand the nuances of using github and tracking issues etc etc and nor should they have to. They are here to blog on a social network site which should be a black box in terms of what is going on in the background.

Greetings @shaka! I have launched a witness campaign for Steemit and have a pretty high capacity server, plus a lot of professional experience with software/hardware (and banks of all things!) - I can see you are voting currently for @au1nethyb1 whose server is listed as inactive and who hasn't posted to Steemit for over a year. I'd really appreciate if you would consider switching that spot for me to give me a chance to serve the community as best I can.
My witness application is here. Cheers!

I'll have a look, cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48