You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Performance and Scalability Updates

in #performance6 years ago

We also want to avoid drawing unnecessary attention to anything that a potential attacker could exploit until we have fully evaluated the situation.

This has been my presumption when everything started to go bad. Whatever is being done to prevent these attacks would be information that could increase vulnerability. And whatever the procedure has been more than likely is having an effect on website performance, but that's a price to pay while resolutions are still being worked on.

As for issues users are experiencing I want to bring one up just because I think it has been going on for me since before the DDOS attacks started and I'm wondering why it is happening.

9 times out of 10 my votes work fine, but for some reason now and then when I choose a percentage on my scale to vote at I notice that my vote went in at a different percentage. This is really frustrating especially if the vote cost me more voting power than I wanted it to. Most of the time though, I would have voted somewhere between 25-100% and my vote would go in as 1% instead. I can see it happening on steemd.

I'm going to presume it's a bug of some sort but I have also heard that minnows who don't yet have the voting slider are unable to downvote at 100% using steemit. Please tell me I've been misinformed. Why would we manipulate the system to weaken the weakest members of this community? Not everybody agrees that downvotes are inherently "harmful", but if the developers do then surely an alternative to the upvote/downvote system should be pursued.

I also have some questions about the SMT's but my comments got too long so I guess I'll wait for the next update on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30