You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why we must teach our kids to be perfect

in #perfection7 years ago

I agree with you. We should teach our kids to strive for perfection. Actually, in my opinion, we should first strive for perfection ourselves and teach our children through example. But then again, what is perfection? Can we define it? Or is it subjective? Do we think that perfection is being successful? Following instructions precisely? Or being a good person? It's very difficult to find an objective description on what being perfect is. And when do we draw the line between teaching our kids a good principle and putting them under stress for performing as well as we expect them to do? As a mum, I always struggle with this. I want to teach my kids to be good people and to to the best they can in their lives but, then again, I don't want them to feel stressed and think that their mother won't accept them if they are not the people that i expect them to be. Very hard indeed.

Anyway, thank for this post. It made me think ;)

Sort:  

I couldn't agree more @camomilla. Same feelings here as a mom...

It's a constant struggle, isn't it?

it is, but we should never give up...after all they'll be grown up one day and I believe they will realize all the teachings they have heard and observed from us. As long as we are here to discipline and guide them, they'll be fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67386.65
ETH 2614.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66