Value is perception

in #perception7 years ago (edited)


OK, so to start out I want to preface by saying I know that some things have intrinsic value that everyone needs. For example food,water, and basic shelter are things that everyone needs to survive/thrive. However as I look back on my life in the midst of a paradigm shift and reorganizing what I find valuable in life, I have come to the understanding that almost everything is worth nothing or everything. What do I mean by this?

To begin with have you ever seen the movie Kingdom of Heaven? Near the end of the movie a very interesting question is asked after a battle has concluded and the victor converses with the defeated. "what is Jerusalem worth?" To which the reply is "nothing...everything." So what does this mean? It means that things are only worth the passion and energy you put into them. In my life I use to value money, stuff, games, clothing, etc. Material possessions and "security" were my paradigm.

However in the midst of learning more and life happening to me I have come to value those things almost as nothing. Now I'm not saying money/possessions are bad, they are amoral. They are neither good or bad, they are simply resources. And just like anything they can be used for good or evil or making cat videos (I'll let you decide what that means).

But in the midst of my change I have come to realize maybe life is better when done in a different way. For example I have cut out most the food I once ate, the media/entertainment I once consumed, and the places I spent my time and resources. An entire different value system in life has opened up to me in the things I am eating, minimalist possession and freedom of movement. Currently I am in the process of going to a fruitarian diet along with selling off/donating most my possessions.

The reason for this is I want to travel. The desire to be mobile with little holding me back is far more desirable to me than the security of a house with lots of stuff most of which I rarely use. As well the diet is due to health related issues and the simplicity that I can grow my own food and access it almost anywhere in the world for much cheaper than the diet I once had. It just seems odd to me that most the things I once held as important are no longer so and most my current goals are the opposite of what I once had. Anyone else have major life paradigm shifts? Feel free to share, and have a great day.

Sort:  

Congratulations @musetwo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good post, hope u dun mind me saying this but a small suggestion, maybe its better to break into paragraphs? I got a bit giddy reading the chunk of words...... Its a great post ...

I actually thought about that as soon as I posted it but said meh. I'll fix it and make sure in the future to do that. Thanks for the suggestion.

Thanks for being so receptive... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69512.95
ETH 3883.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73