Serious Question & Challenge for EVERYONE...See if YOU Know the TRUE Meaning of THIS Simple Word

in #perception7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, I have a simple question for YOU personally. I'm going to ask you to define a simple word that is tossed around a LOT, of which, I suspect, MOST people don't know the REAL (legitimate) meaning or definition. As you endeavor to answer the question I have ONE simple request: PLEASE do not look up the word, don't "Google it" or seek any source outside of your own perception of said word. I want YOUR understanding of the word...YOUR definition.

No, "definition" is NOT the word you're gonna define (haha) .... Please keep reading.....

The reason I'm asking is because I have in mind how I would PERSONALLY define the word in concept and practice. And you know what? It did NOT fit with the "accepted definition." And, from my own understanding, I believe the generally accepted definition is wrong....WAY wrong. (But I think you'll see what I'm talking about after you give your answer in the comment section....and then line up YOUR answer with the generally accepted definition (which, again, seems RIDICULOUSLY BOGUS to me).

Okay...so here goes. The question is below (again...please use YOUR OWN definition and be as succinct as possible)

Define the word "CRIME" (I look forward to your responses)


I'm Brian, the owner and creator of the YouTube Channel HighImpactFlix and the HighImpactFlix Facebook page. My aim is to create useful, relevant, exciting and engaging content that will inform and IMPACT those who take the time to view it. Bottom line: I strive to make it worth your while to check out my videos!

Thanks for watching/reading. If you enjoyed this or, if it impacted you in any positive way, consider sharing and commenting. And, if you want, Upvote and alt text It's MUCH appreciated! Revenue generated goes back into creating even more "in-your-face" content. Peace!

Sort:  

Hillary Clinton , that would be my definition

Hahaha....not what I expected...but I really can't argue with it. Good one.

Can`t think of better definition at the moment ;-)

Deliberate action causing harm would be my definition...but I like to keep it simple :) @highimpactflix The old Ockam's Razor approach I guess ;)

I'd define a crime as a deliberate action which harms another.

Loading...

Crime is the damaging of someone elses property or the threat to do so. No victim, no crime.

You're right, but that's not what we see. Possessing marijuana is a crime. Where is the damage? Where is the victim? (Try to forget for a moment that some states have legalized marijuana. It's still a federal crime. But it's an easy example of a crime.)

So, let's see your definition of the word crime. I gave mine.

I had already put it in the thread, it was right below this post last I checked. I think @everittdmickey put it well, a crime is anything the gov says it is.

FWIW I believe your definition is more correct if we were still under common law. Unfortunately we're not.

A breaking of a rule that has been codified into law, and designated as either a big break or a little break. (Felony, misdemeanor)

I'll be curious to hear the back story.

I would claim that it would be much more extensive than just a defined answer ; because it can be subjective - you do the crime you do the time .

I guess my answer would be anything that would be considered to break a rule meant to be in place for any reason .
Even if it is intentional or not ; crime can be done accidental .

Perhaps a social experiment is needed ?
Maybe set up an obvious home made sign place it somewhere with a rule and see how many people break this rule ; like no laughing or smiling or fun of any kind . one that would be hard to break - then another sign ; almost professional made with a rule that would be much easier to break ; like keep off the grass

Then try to get other peoples opinion on the matter while trying different methods .
Just thinking " out loud " if you do manage to get to this - i would love to see it ; make sure you tag me in it !

Crime is breaking the law.
The law is anything the guberment says it is.

I understand...but I mean REAL crime, not fabricated crime by the edict of a political parasite.

I repeat...crime is what the government says it is.

I didn't know you believed that. Then, from 1920 until 11:59pm on the night of December 4th 1933 (depending on your timezone), selling alcohol was a "crime." One minute later, at midnight, it was NOT a "crime." This means that it was STILL a "crime" in California for 3 hours after it was NO LONGER a "crime" in New York?

yup..by definition.
sometimes the laws are contradictory.
Killing an infant before birth (Abortion) is legal.
Killing after it's born is not legal.
My grandson was six weeks premature (C-section)
explain that.
My 'belief' doesn't change reality. I never implied I approve.
but facts are facts.
read the Ayn Rand quote I posted...she nailed it.

you didn't ask what I think a crime SHOULD be.
you asked what a crime IS.

what I think a crime SHOULD be is any violation of ZAP.
but that's not what it IS.

Crime? It's anything that opposes natural law.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81