Harvested a few dozen pounds of peppers today!

in #peppers7 years ago

My gardens are going nuts with production right now. Decided today was the day to harvest my first flush of Jalapeño peppers.

IMG_0445.jpg

That's just shy of 40 lbs. Pile is about a foot tall on our dining room table. More views below.

IMG_0446.jpg

IMG_0447.jpg

I planted two rows of pepper plants this year, and this represents about 33% of the total planting. I like to experiment and I've found that planting your peppers 3 or 4 in a cluster gave me many more pounds per square foot than single plants and helps protect the fruits from sun scald, but more on that later as I get into my growing techniques.

The plan is to pickle 2 or 3 dozen jars of sliced peppers as I am a big fan of pickled peppers with EVERY meal. The bigger ones will be stuffed with cheddar and pepperjack cheese and frozen for later breading and deep frying. I do love me some cheese stuffed jalapeño peppers.

Oh, all of these peppers came from one $2 packet of pepper seeds. I expect to get an equal amount of peppers from the next flush of fruits. I may let them ripen fully and make chipotle in adobo sauce. I use it frequently in my cooking.

All this is leading up to something bigger.

Please check back to follow my journey.

Sort:  

Looks like you need a bigger table man!

Nice harvest! Love them pickled peppers.... thanks for sharing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45