The lighter side of being a teacher

in #people7 years ago (edited)

I have been a teacher for most of my adult life and believe me there were ups and downs, but nothing beats the feeling when you stand in front of a class and you see the light go up in one of your kid's eyes and you know that suddenly they make sense of what you have been trying to explain over and over again.

It is moments like those that make teaching worth while, helping kids, making them better people and knowing that they look up to you and that you play an important role in their lives.

You do not become a teacher because you know you are going to be able to afford to live in a mansion, drive the newest car or travel all over the world - you become a teacher because it is who you are and you are a sucker for punishment (hahaha).

                                            

image source

My own child had to go through school on her own - you know the story of the dentist's kids with rotten teeth? Pretty much the same thing, because you are always busy with other peoples' kids (which you start seeing as your own)

Like I said, ups and downs and tears and long hours and your soul being tired to an extend you have never experienced, starting to believe that murder is an option and will anybody really miss Johnny if you just tie him up and put him in the cupboard, but most of all a sense of glory to hear a child read better than he did in the beginning of the year, a child being thankful to have a save haven and a child whose heart you have touched and ends up becoming a teacher himself (even if he was one of those you were planning to get rid of his body without anybody's knowledge.)

I know that if you are a teacher you will understand exactly what I am talking about, so I thought I would find a few pictures to illustrate my point.

                                        

image source

I have this whole list every day and I start off being very positive to finish it but I swear that list gets babies - it just never ends.

                                                  

image source

A lot of my friends do not understand this ....Uhm it is easy, your papers in your office do not talk back...

                                                       

image source

Guilty as charged.  Usually to the embarresment of my own child and husband.

                                                          

image source

I love my kids, but I count the days

                                                  

image source

Not only at the end of the school year - most of the days,

But when all is said and done, this is the most true thing of it all...

                                    

image source

Sort:  

This is so how I feel great post!

Thank you very much - glad to know I am not the only one

It is always nice to know that there are other people out there that love teaching so much.

It is a love hate, pulling hair out and smiling relationship hahaha

Your posts are always interesting Anneke. I hope you are having fun on Steemit.

Thank you for the kind words - I sure am - writing in the exact way I speak... not very deep and phylosophical hahaha

I'm a teacher, too. This post is 100% correct.

So glad it's summer vacation now.

Thanks, so glad you can relate

Loved the post ☺️ upvoted 👍

Thank you very much

Humorous viewpoint of a teacher makes a good read lol. Pretty sure I was Johnny to more than 1 teacher.

Hahahaha I cannot say that I were a little angel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42