Passive Accumulation of Alts With Peerplays?

in #peerplays7 years ago

I think Jonathan’s recent article ( https://steemit.com/peerplays/@peerplays/all-the-best-cryptocurrencies-in-one-peerplays ) is sufficient in introducing the concept of passive accumulation but I wanted to expand a bit on the idea because I think it is fascinating.

The idea is based on the idea that Peerplays, a gaming blockchain, will allow people to place bets using multiple currencies. It’s not just betting with the Peerplays token or even just BTC. Anything. Eth, Dash, Nem, Doge...probably even Nyancoin (lol). Peerplays is designed to allow interaction with multiple currencies and that is great news for people who enjoy gaming.

There aren’t many crypto projects, to my knowledge, that focus on other cryptocurrencies besides their own. To segue a little bit, I have always thought that that altcoin land for the past few years was the largest R&D department in the world precisely because of the decentralized nature of it. Many coins were trying to one up each other in hopes of being what BTC is. Spoiler – I think BTC is here to stay...but I digress...because I think that altcoins have a very valid and adequate role to play. Peerplays acknowledges and accepts that the altcoin sphere is a complicated and glorious cooperation of people from all over the world and the platform is designed to encourage the use of all of it.

Ideologically, that is great. It’s a great story and I wish we had a campfire. But the ideology is not the end of the story.

We have all witnessed a huge interest in altcoins. March 2017 will be forever documented in the charts as the month where altcoins made a huge jump and began to be taken more seriously. Before, they were often viewed with disdain as pretenders and as not relevant. Now, they are seen as viable testnets, a source of innovation, and even as competitors in some cases.

Which is whyI think Peerplays is brilliant. Allowing people to use whatever crypto currency they want to place bets means that Peerplays tokens will receive didvidends in the form of whatever crypto currency is being used. It’s passive accumulation of alts. When the Peerplays Blockchain launches, it will be possible to to accumulate various crypto currencies without having to read charts; without having to read Bitcointalk ANN’s. The best and the rest could be used for gambling and a portion of those will be sent, automatically to the PeerPlays wallet.

This bull market will not continue forever. Everything is cyclical but it will come back. If Peerplays had existed a year ago, I might have had Dash and Eth sitting in my Peerplays wallet with little effort. So I think that having a coin that gradually accumulates other coins is a brilliant concept.

I took a round about way of explaining but the crux, or tldr; , is that Peerplays is designed to be able to handle the betting of multiple crypto currencies. PeerPlays tokenholders will receive dividends of whatever cryptocurrency is being used. The growing marketcap of all altcoins means that it is possible that the value of dividends far exceed the percentage allocated at time of division.

It’s going to be a fun ride!

Sort:  

I agree with your article. What I am still uncertain about is how to actually benefit from the 15.5 Peerplays I bought during the pre ICO period through Openledger. I was traveling, came back and found Peerplays was no longer tradeable on openledger. I purchased additional peerplay with btc during the ICO and while I have the private keys, etc, again - they just sit not earning me anything. I could have used that BTC to buy more Dash or XMR (which I also was buying back then) or left it as Btc and been smiling. I sure hope you are right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54