furion joins Peerplays

in #peerplays7 years ago (edited)

The Peerplays network has launched. Normally, I would have dismissed this as it is just another coin, why should I care?

But I do care.

I care because @xeroc, a talented individual whom I have a lot of respect for is involved with the project.
I care because I see familiar names in the Peerplays telegram group.
I care because I sense a healthy dose of pragmatism in the project.

The gaming industry is ripe for disruption, and in my opinion, Peerplays has solid fundamentals, and is well positioned as a disruptive force for the next couple of years.

Earlier this year we have attempted to create a prediction market prototype on Steem with SteemSports, however we ran into several challenges, which have been elegantly solved by the Peerplays team.

pp4.png

I think there is a tremendous opportunity for developers to build games and prediction markets on top of Peerplays, right now.

Witness Proposal

I am very excited to join the Peerplays network as a witness (furion).

get_witness furion
{
  "id": "1.6.52",
  "witness_account": "1.2.9761",
}

Being a witness on Steem, I am fairly confident in my ability to perform this role on Peerplays.

I have setup a couple of servers, and my furion witness is up and running.

I also have a public seed node:

peerplays-seed.steemdata.com:7777

servers.png

I would like to thank @jesta for lending me 20PPY to setup a witness account.

The Future

I am excited about learning more about the platform going forward, and finding ways in which I can contribute.

That being said, I am currently dedicated to building a decentralized video platform, and I am concerned about the value I could bring to the Peerplays network in the short term. I don't want to be a leech on the network, and take a witness position, while some other, more dedicated person would be more deserving of it.

Sort:  

I hope I can get what I invested in Peerplays.
I invested 100k BTS was only $3k then, and now it's worth $40k

Well done

I believe he's saying he invested $40k at this point , I do hope you get a return but if you just kept it in BTS you were prob better off , that will be hard to beat , but hey this could skyrocket as well!

He seems to be saying he invested $3K worth of BTS at the time of the sale but if he had held on to it instead it would be worth $40K as BTS right now due to the big weekend pump. So he's essentially hoping for 13.3x ROI out of PeerPlays to be equal to the lost opportunity.

As a PPY holder myself I hope you he does make those kinds of returns XD

PPY TO THE MOON!

If anyone here is in the mood to vote for PeerPlays witnesses consider 'content-junkie'.

Many ICO participants pay by Ether, and lots of coins (new or old) don't perform as well Ether; so there is always a risk when you pay ICO using a crypto... You can by these 100k BTS back immediately with $3k fiat, so your cost for Peersplay ICO is always $3k

Wow talk about luck. 10 to 1 on your money

Early investors who has the right information are always make the most profit out of their investments.

I'll have to take a look at Peerplays, I think anything that solves problems well and is geared towards the gaming industry has the potential to be a strong player.

I'm internal so interested in the decentralized video platform you mention. I'll have to refer back to some of your posts (new follower here) unless you have a couple links handy?

"I would like to thank @jesta for lending me 20PPY to setup a witness account." This is amazing teamwork to see happening here, live, for us all to witness and uplift.

Thanks a bunch for the updates on PEERPLAYS, your witness roles and information about it all. Definitely appreciated from this end.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Wow what a great community

Was that sarcasm?

Good luck, furion! It'll be a bit tricky for witnesses like us lower on the list to get in based on the wallet UI, but hopefully someday we'll get a chance. For now, there may be more network resources than are needed.

Hi @furion I am a video content creator currently building up a following on YouTube. I have integrated my Steemit account with my YouTube production workflow, but I would really like to get involved with content creation on the beta of your video platform once it's at that stage. Is this possible? Also could you provide any information on how non-developers, who focus primarily on content, creativity, marketing or graphic design can play a part in Peer Play's development?

I mean of course outside of being a language ambassador:

The platform is still in development, please sign up on steemq.com as a creator to get an early invite.

Thanks for the info. I signed up. I can tell by the signup form you are taking this project seriously. I'm excited.

@furion I am dying to get my contents up in www.steemq.com but I already bugged u for the info regarding the release. And now hearing about signup for early invite is too damn exciting. So heading towards www.steemq.com for the sign up. Cheeers!!!!!

Earlier this year we have attempted to create a prediction market prototype on Steem with SteemSports, however we ran into several challenges, which have been elegantly solved by the Peerplays team.

Do you happen to have a blog specifically about this? I would love to know more.

We ran into technical and people issues.

As far as people issues go, we had divergent views on what direction should the project be taken in. I had been more interested in developing prediction games for different markets, but we also had something working with sports, and not enough momentum to bridge the gap.

As far as tech goes, our games would have been semi-decentralized. The games are still provably fair, because all game details and wagers are recorded on the immutable chain (Steem), but there is counterparty risk (it might be somehow remedied with escrow).

Peerplays on the other hand just nailed it. The Peerplays team has put a lot of effort into developing a robust, generally useful solution, so we eventually just conceded.

Need to look into this, again something different to look at ha!

What is the total supply of Peerplay?

It's an inflationary model like STEEM, there isn't a total supply. Unless you're asking what the total supply is right now, in which it's changing every moment!

Yes, the total supply at this moment.

great news !
i hope that it's going to succeed ... i invested 0.5 BTC in it :)

Congratulation for being one of the witness of PeerPlays. Regarding SteemQ, I think the Blockchain community is really forward to support this project. ANd even non crypto will really get a hand on a product that they are already experiencing with youtube.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88