Arnhem, the Netherlands - a Trip to Bitcoin City for my First Bitcoin Purchase

in #peerplays7 years ago (edited)

"Take me down to the Bitcoin Coin City where the money ain't green and bitcoin is plenty..."

Last week I had the opportunity to visit Arnhem, the Dutch city also known as "Bitcoin City". My role within the PBSA & @Peerplays team is to educate, and what better way to do so than to show how simple it is to purchase with Bitcoin, even for the most simple of things.

This community is known for it's accepting attitude towards Bitcoin. One thing I did notice, however, is although many shops indeed accept bitcoin, proudly displaying stickers in their windows, not all frontline staff were educated on Bitcoin. This was my personal experience, and it comes from a small sampling of interactions.

I decided to make my first purchase at Burger King. It's awesome that a global chain that serves millions all around the world is recognizing Bitcoin & accepting it in exchange for curly fries!

Check out my experience, and let me know in the comments your first Bitcoin purchase!

Making Bitcoin mainstream, one curly fry at a time.

Sort:  

I can't wait for the new High Speed Eurostar to Amsterdam. UK > Amsterdam direct !! It's coming around December 2017. Will be there spending my Bitcoins :-)

Possibly on more than curly fries? LOL!

Hey i'm a Married respectable Man i'll have you know !!

Well most of the time anyways ;-)

Am really glad bitcoin is gaining acceptance . I only hope it'll be more recognized here in Nigeria.
@molokwu

Cool to see that retailers are jumping on the Bitcoin Train! Great post

Here is a link to a list of where you can spend Bitcoins: http://www.coindesk.com/information/what-can-you-buy-with-bitcoins/

Agreed! The more accepted cryptocurrency becomes in our daily lives, the more people will embrace it! Thanks for the link as well!

instant follow because of the video production quality, definately want to see more of your work! :) must have been cool buying with bitcoin!

It was very cool! I was pleasantly surprised at how quick the transaction was as well!

i think that's the key, it needs to be fast. did you try any other places that would have given a better average if you had tried say 3/5 places more.

I was just about to get myself into bitcoin lately, and this seems to be another reason why I should do that. Thankfully I'm in the Netherlands too! yay!

I live in Arnhem.
Great video about the Bitcoin City where the money ain't green and the Bitcoin is plenty! 😁

Congratulations @fit6ix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Haha that quote in the beginning though :P Good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52