Anybody Else Using Peepeth? ETH Bassed Twitter

in #peepeth6 years ago (edited)

I received an email from Earn.com yesterday. I'm still getting paid emails from them every other day with new airdrop offers on upcoming crypto currencies. If you're not aware of Earn.com yet, check it out.

That's not really the reason behind this post, though.

I really want to talk about two things that I found yesterday in relation to one of the Earn.com emails. One being a phone app called Trust Wallet.

https://trustwalletapp.com/

This app is a way for you to see all the ERC20 tokens and ETH that you might have stored on myetherwallet.com. This is pretty nice, because using Earn.com, I've gotten a few airdrops and having to log in to myetherwallet and then bringing up the tokens is a little bit of a pain in the ass. This app brings up all the tokens automatically so you can see everything that has been airdropped to you.

There is a web browser in the app, where you can log in to various ETH websites for trading tokens. I had to use the web browser to sign up for one of the airdrops yesterday, but something else caught my eye.

Peepeth.com

https://peepeth.com/welcome

0F662C86-8053-4156-814B-AAD1EA6DA779.jpeg

This site is a twitter alternative built on the etherium Blockchain. I'm not much of a twitter user, but I was interested enough to sign up and see what it's about. I was user #1113 I think so it's an incredibly new platform. It seems very twitter like indeed.

One thing, though. I think Steemit has spoiled me a little because Peepeth requires ETH to post anything. I guess they've kept the fees low by not posting every peep (a peepeth tweet) immediately to the Blockchain. What they do is wait until you've made 15 posts, and then you add them to the Blockchain in one transaction, which I guess keeps the transactions low.

Another thing Steemit has spoiled me for that Peepeth doesn't quite accomplish is the monetization of the content. People can send ETH to you if they like the peep or link, but really what are the chances of that? To take money from my account and send it to you for a peep is not something I will do a whole lot - especially for something that is only a few hundred characters long. To send a dollar of ETH to someone today for a peep, could potentially be $500 some time in the future. Knowing that makes it very hard to do; for me at least.

So maybe it's not going to take over Steemit or Zappl any time soon. But, it's still pretty neat that this sort of thing seems to be popping up more and more in the cryptocurrency space. I think Steemit has a really good head start on anything that might come behind it. Coupled with the fact that it doesn't cost anything and there are a number of DApps like DTube, DLive, Zappl, Steepshot, eSteem, etc. all running and doing great. But the more programs, apps, and websites there are out there to get people engaged in crypto currencies and Blockchains, the faster it's going to take over the world and change everything.

Sort:  

Interesting... there have been many attempts at the Twitter thing recently, and none have even come close. I tried to support zappl but ugh its just no good, I should have trusted my gut when I thought they weren't a great project unfortunately.

I heard a lot about Mastadon, but I dunno. I think Twitter works best as an unmonetized centralized service, and I think the Twitter cooperation has been remarkably good at facilitating free-ish speech within their ecosystem.

Zappl is a cool concept, but I can't quite wrap my head around it because it's just as easy to make a short post on steemit without an extra app - it might even be easier.

Great and expensive idea. Thanks for sharing.
I hope Gibson is doing great

Thanks. He's doing pretty well now. Some issues with the staples staying in but he's healing well.

I also sign up and took a look but don't see the point in paying to post either... 🤔
Who knows, maybe in a distopian future I will have to pay to post. For the moment I prefer to get paid !

There also doesn't seem to be any activity there either.

Great wallet.
Everything what based on blockchain technology is super secured.

no sorry i'm not using it!

I think all users steemit hope so, and one time crypto will continue to succeed

I havent heard it but It seems good. More based on blockchain technology makes internet good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80