The Non-Agression Principle // Part 3

in #peaceacademy6 years ago

3 Basic Truths

In order to understand the foundations of the Non-Agression Principle, we can look at 3 basic truths.

1. We exist

2. Self-Ownership
We are responsible and in control of the movements of our own bodies, therefore we are the owners of our bodies.

3. We must be free in order to survive, fully live, and thrive

  • We must have the freedom of movement to obtain sustenance
  • We must have the freedom of choice so that we are not slaves
  • We must have the freedom for self-actualization in order to thrive

These 3 basic truths are the foundations for individual freedom, personal responsibility, and defense against acts of aggression.

Empathy and War

Something that I find disturbing is the way the general population seems to be accepting and detached when it comes to war, and I find the reason why to be even more disturbing.

With the exception of psychopaths and sociopaths, we all have some amount of empathy within us.
On a deeper level, we know that we are all the same….we are all just human.
It doesn’t matter what country you are from or what religion you are.

We are all human.
This is the common thread that holds us all together.

Most of us absolutely find murder and killing horrible, sickening and absolutely unacceptable, so why is our reaction different when it comes to war?

The answer is a systematic desensitization by the Government who uses fear, propaganda, paranoia, and anger to dehumanize others and aggressively erase our empathy when it comes to how we view others.

They do this starting from childhood by teaching us that our country is the best and we are better than others, instilling a strong sense of nationalism and allegiance within us so that acts of war seem necessary, normal, and just. As I've stated before the modern education system in America is a weapon of mass destruction. I'm not anti-education... that's empowering, but a system that teaches us "the other" is always an existential threat worthy of harm is a dangerous force.

Sort:  

"As I've stated before the modern education system in America is a weapon of mass destruction."

Excellent words aggroed. Upvoted and resteemed.

So true

Ugh. You're calling me on my shit, and you're right. The brevity of this post made it sink in for me, because you said a lot in few words. I would care if it was happening to the people next to me in this coffee shop. So why wouldn't I care when it's people on the other side of the world? I could only not care if I had been so desensitized that it didn't matter to me anymore.

I have some thinking to do.

@aggroed Lovely message :) Self ownership is definitely number one for me. Wishing you the best always.

the more the better

Thank you @aggroed for this insightful post ( as usual) . I do hate War and the whole thought of having 'Rules of War' seems so bizarre to me. I want nothing to do with it like you, but do you think in some cases where we are defending vulnerable and helpless people that it may be necessary ?? i.e. WWII and jewish population, the War on terrorists groups like ISIS and also Khmer Rouge who murdered innocent Cambodia women and children.

Anyway thanks again :)

I think this truth becomes very real for people who are deployed. It seems as though many people have to detach from their overall empathy to cope, and others cannot, so it leaves scars on the psyche. Either way it is very difficult for people to come back to society afterward. I believe if there is a real urgent cause, then taking another person's life can be justified.

We see this in and out of war. If I needed to kill to rescue a loved one from their would-be murderer, I would. Maybe there were times in the past when war consisted of two sides who both held beliefs that they were willing to kill and die for. This is no longer the case. People are paid to fight in wars that they have little say in, and little to do with. It is because of this that I believe many soldiers are unable to cope with what they are ordered to do.

We see that people living in stone age tribal societies also engage in war, what human society has not? It seems less that it is taught than that we have evolved it. In fact we can look to our closest relatives and see that apes also engage in warfare. It's your number one freedom that causes the rub, moving about to acquire sustenance, in doing so people come into conflict about who gets that sustenance or other resource, and resources are limited.

" the modern education system in America is a weapon of mass destruction. I'm not anti-education... that's empowering, but a system that teaches us "the other" is always an existential threat worthy of harm is a dangerous force."

Which class is that in? they hardly teach history and they don't teach any civics, that shit is not on the standardized tests.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87