No man is an Island

in #peace4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Today I read that people in Italy were advised not to exercise outside . That would be torture for me.

When I say I am "home" it doesn't mean that I have to stay inside the house. Our backyard connects to a mountain and sometimes we get lost in it. I figure as long as we don't meet any people we are safe from the virus unless the virus is contracted through birds.

image.png


Yesterday we found a small hippie camp we didn't know about. The people there were building a couple of shelters and used the grounds to camp out, but it looks like no one has been there for at least a year. They will probably be back next summer to finish their projects.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png



A few weeks ago I was in the airport at Dehli and played a match of pool with a man from Nepal. The man just sunk two solids and then looked at my oldest son who is half Korean. He asked, "Where are you guys from?" We said, "South Korea."

He then looked at his watch and said, "Corona!... Oops, I mean I have to catch my plane now." He left with his friends in a hurry. Even though we had been in India for two weeks before the corona thing got big in Korea, it didn't matter because we were Korean. By the way, this virus doesn't like Asian people more than Westerners. Seems to have no preference.


image.png

fishermen.gif

image.png

image.png


Now I could say the same thing about several countries. Actually the Korean infection rate is slowing down and the amount of people who died from the virus is low compared to other countries.

The school board has set a date for us to start back the new semester as April 6th. It will be a big thing then in the public schools with a lot of caution to be taken. I'm not sure I want to eat lunch in the cafeteria for a while.


image.png


In the mean time teachers take turns coming in during this "break". I work one day at school and two days at home. Over the past ten years in the public schools I got used to teaching and have gotten in a rut.

This is the sabbatical I needed. The way I look at it I am getting paid to come in and prepare myself and class for a new semester without the rush. I can really take time to deep clean my office, class and my heart.

Teddy Bear's surgery

I wanted to spend time to write books this break, but that is not the absolute priority. My oldest is a teenager and the youngest needs special help. I spent each day training the two. My older son wants to be an athlete and we do exercises twice a day.

My youngest son is working on basic skills so we do a lot of songs and art crafts. Mostly he likes to draw maps and building designs. He remembers shapes and patterns better than numbers and letters.

image.png

Some parents find it difficult to be with their kids at this time and I understand. At first I let them watch movies and watch old TV programs and play computer games. That kept them calmed down but they became like zombies and spiteful toward each other.

It wasn't until I completely removed the devices from the house did they come back to normal. The result is my kids are getting along well, the price to pay is my online communication is severely limited to my cell phone sometimes and my computer at school. And if I do take out my cell phone at home I am sure to be stalked as prey.

image.png

Meantime the Steem world has lost its charm.

Its like there was this really nice toy I got for Christmas in 2017 and it was shiny and new. Usually toys break within three days but this one kept going for almost three months. Then just as the community seemed to be getting its act together again somebody goes and buys Steemit. I couldn't help laugh the first time I heard it. We were reading Matilda together and it just sounded like one of the cars Matilda's dad had sold.

image.png

Would you like to buy Steemit? Source

It seems that most of the Steem world is packing up to move to the hive. I love honey and propolis. The health benefits are incredible. I'm not in a hurry to write but part by part I plan to share the journey of publishing as well as sharing some of my teaching experiences and some stories about how the family is doing.

There are always some greedy guys on top who a trying get something, but the concept here should be to give and then everyone befits.

Hive on

(That's awkward)

This last picture was taken right in front of my school.
image.png

Korean pic source

We love you,

Surprise. This was a longer post than usual. I hope I didn't just go and waste my time. It is really windy here today. By the way the pictures here unless noticed otherwise were taken with my cell phone.


Enjoy your big time out.

Sort:  

I enjoyed your post! I spent 4 hours in my yard today. I am so glad we can go outside and walk our dog and go to the grocery store during this coronavirus mess! I’m planning on moving over to Hive! It makes the most sense.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You love flowers and that's where the honey is. Makes sense. Like always I won't sweat it. It seems that Texas has the most beautiful spring. My parents spend the winter in Arizona and I think they will end up moving there. Sick of ice and snow from September to March.

Yes, we are having a beautiful spring! That is so smart of your parents! I have friends that live in Arizona. I think they really like it! In the Northwestern part of Arizona is a place called Big Lake Arizona. It is beautiful! There are pine trees and a beautiful lake. I have only been there once way back in 1985, but it was so pretty. We camped and fished for trout. My family grew up camping and fishing in New Mexico since we lived in El Paso, Tx. Trout fishing is our favorite because trout are so tasty!

Cool. I will let them know.

🏆 Hi @mineopoly! You have received 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @davidke20
Subscribe and increase the reward for @mineopoly :) | For investors.

damn that hippie camp looks fun 🤣

Wow. You are awake early today. JK
Those mountains are full of surprises. It looks like days I come in to school I will be online and days at home I will be offline.

lol i'm up early checking hive news 😏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67546.21
ETH 3785.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56