We are more than colorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #peace7 years ago (edited)

#morethancolor



This is my way of extending an olive branch. Every cure starts with one step.

In today's time I look across our country and see trouble.  Too many times I see violence or hatred directed at someone just because of their background or the color of their skin.  There is anger from every direction based on anything from sexual orientation, careers, how much money someone makes, color of skin, religion, and/or country of origin.  As a Christian I am taught to love, understand, and try to mend fences of difference.  

How do we coexist with differences?

As we have seen, this can be a very difficult thing to do.  It is so easy to sit back in our own mind set and point the finger and question every single thing someone else with a different background does and deem it wrong or ignorant.  Here are a few steps I have taken to break myself from the chains of one way thinking. 

  • 1.   I took a long look at my faults and put myself in others shoes. How would I feel from a different perspective seeing what I do or say every day?  I found some problems. 


  • 2.   Make a strong effort to talk to someone different than yourself and figure out why they feel the way they do.  Most of the time I have found people's emotions and feelings have been shaped by the media.  More often than not, these notions have been created to reflect a small portion of whatever group one may be "affiliated" with. 


  • 3.   Make a conscious decision to be a part of the solution not the problem! It is as simple as changing your perspective sometimes.  Do not let small sample sizes of what you see on tv effect your feelings toward someone or something.  

Be the difference. Be someone that changes this world.  Be #morethancolor!

In our world I see a strong division of people.  We must stop hating one another.  We must strive to be great people, great leaders, and try to bring peace to each other.  I know we cannot change the world on a macro scale over night but we can begin to change individuals thinking.  Try to make one person in your life take  moment to wonder if  there really is any difference at all.  Take the time to be kind to each other, take time out of your day to carry on a conversation with someone, take a moment to genuinely love each other, and I think we will all find we are nothing but flesh and bone and we all have pain and struggles.  This is not a post to get likes or gain reputation this is here to impact someone's life.  Even if it is just one person.  If only one person reads this, I am speaking to you.  I am speaking as loudly as I can type.  You and I must make a difference today.  Not only for the world but for ourself.  It is so rewarding!  Today, let's start the difference. Today, let us be more than color.  Good day my friend. 



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55