Well, well… guess who bought the latest MacBook?!?

in #pc6 years ago

NOT ME!!!

Well technically it was me, but I was left with no alternatives..
Recently I got an IT job - as trainee - and at the beginning they gave me a nice 10yo Dell laptop where I was free to install a Linux Distro of my choice.
I selected Debian and immediately switched it to a rolling Distro by selecting the testing repositories. Everything was pretty fine and snappy and I managed to get used again to a Desktop Environment (Gnome) after I switched to "Windows Manager"-only a few years ago (OpenBox > JWM > i3).

Then a colleague asked me: "Hey did you already ordered your MacBook?", and I was like: "ehmmm... sorry??".
Yes apparently I had to own a MacBook... At first I was thinking about buying something else and continue on with muh Debian, but apparently I had no choice but to buy a Apple device.
Now, notice that I didn't had to pay for it, everything was financed by my company.
Still, I probably was one of the few in the world that was extremely reluctant to get the latest "best laptop on the market" basically as gift.
The reasons are simple: 2 thousand 700 fucking hundred € for a Laptop!
I will never ever spend that amount of money considering the alternatives. Plus add some 100 here and another 100 there for mouse, keyboard and a few adapters (type-c to Ethernet/Usb and to DisplayPort).

Actually there are a few cheaper models from Apple but the hardware that you get for that price is just not worth it... better to go with the flagship model!
As you probably noticed from the picture here above the model I'm referring to is the one with the TouchBar instead of the Esc, F1-12, etc. buttons, as I first saw it, it instantly remembered me of a Tamagochi.
Now this is also the reason that got me into looking at the other MacBook Pro models (as said they are not worth it, half the ram, slower cpu and so on).

So at the end I got it and started to play around, I actually was a bit curious as it was my first time trying OSX.
I'm not going to write a review right now, I'll probably do that in a year or so, but I just want to say that the less lightweight Destop Environments such as KDE, GNOME, Unity, etc. have nothing to envy in term of features and functionality, on the contrary they are even more open and way more user-friendly, and without all the nasty stuff that I still need to discover (non-removable battery tells you something?).

To conclude, all this post is simply a warn to my readers (...tumbleweed...) that I'm not joining the same path of the soon-transhuman mass, I'm awoke and can't wait to hack this device.
Expect full-consciousness mac guide from an hardcore Linux user!


A few pros and cons:

pros:
hackable!
bash is there
nice screen and trackpad
you can install GNU/Linux or BSD on it

cons:
non-removable battery (guess Apple doesn't really want you to turn it off)
insane prices
good luck with hardware replacement and support
Siri and all other crap (smart apps to dumb you down)
not so great battery life
OSX is nothing impressive


TA SALÜDE

Sort:  

One of the pros some people seem to mis is the build quality. I've been using my Macbook for 5 years and how it looks and operates is still similar with the first day I used it. In the last years I've also used some Dell, Surface and Asus products and all of them just don't stand up to my Macbook.

But still, this doesn't dignify the costs. The prices are just to high.

Yeah nice hardware but still there is to deal with that crap OS and to tons of inhuman Terms of Use.

apple is the best thing on earth

de gustibus...
to me is one of the the worst corporations on earth together with Micro$oft

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84