Made a purchase on paywithsteem.com

in #paywithsteem6 years ago (edited)

So, if I'm being frank my wife is giving me some grief because you can't buy groceries with crypto. She sees it as an investment instead of an everyday use kinda thing. So, I'm currently working on how I'mg going to turn crypto assets into physical goods (without going through fiat). Well, would't you know it, within 2 days of that conversation paywithsteem.com opens up. Thank you universe.

Paywithsteem.com

So, if you check trending this thing just started. I was technically the first customer. While the selection is still a little small (watches, hoodies, and computerish stuff) it's a growing list. The buying process was smooth. I bought a set of earbuds for $7 USD. I paid with steem and the program did the conversion for me. I had to pay 3 bucks for shipping. It's currently shipping out of China I think, so it's taking 20 days to get to me. I haven't received the earbuds yet, but assuming you don't mind waiting for your Assassin's Creed hoodie then this was pretty simple. Once I went to the payment gateway I had to use Steem Connect (run by Steemit inc) to send them Steem. I got an email right after the steem connect went through.

I've been pestering them in Discord

They opened up a Discord room here: https://discord.gg/ZWnVRqT

Since they are basically solving some wife concerns (I've been waggroed) for me I'll act as a mild spokesman for them right now. I'm not sure it shipped, but I am sure I paid them. Hopefully this post doesn't come back to bite me, but for now they are all pretty accessible, listening to some of my feedback, and adding things to the shop I'm requesting.

I try not to spend money, but that's not possible for the family. What I really want is groceries... I think I have to figure out how to get target or amazon gift cards for my steem in a reliable way (I don't want to buy shit like this on the internet because there is no way to guarentee that they haven't spent all 50 of the $50 gift card someone might sell me). Anyway, until then one of the things that my family buys is shoes. I have two young daughters and as they grow they go through shoes. So, I asked them to stock some shoes I can buy. Assuming my wife doesn't hate them I'll start getting kids shoes every few months through this site. Then I'll figure out what other common purchases we can make using steem.

I liked the process and I like @btcvenom

I don't know these guys. I'm not super techy so I can't verify anything more than what I've experienced rather than code etc. So, I'm not ready to go balls deep for this, but so far I've had a good experience. I'm gonna wait 20 days for my earbuds to arrive, and then I'll probably buy a few hundred dollars of hoodies for christmas presents. Now if only they had steem logos...

if anyone has ideas on how to convert steem to target or amazon gift cards reliably I'm open.

mspsteem.com

This post is authored on mspsteem.com. It's a clone of steemit.com, but run by the Minnow Support Project with witness @netuoso as the system admin and creator. You can login just like using steemit.com (I suggest your private posting key). MSPsteem has a 5% beneficiary that goes to the account @minnowsupport.

Sort:  

Gyft accepts BTC. Pretty sure they have Target among others.

Why would one log into mspsteem.com?

Or post an article there?

What's the benefit of/reason to do so?

I feel like. Ownworh crypto, anything is possible at a simple touch of a button, technology making life easier

Nice!! There are many other sites where you can spend crypto and crypto credit cards of course. These all convert crypto to fiat but you pay in crypto! Bru

I saw this new site and wondered. I do hope it makes it. Success for sites like this will give a little more of a push for steem.

Hopefully they can get their shipping times down a good chunk to help them really compete in the world of modern online shopping.

If you didn't live the other side of the big sea I'd sell you fruit and veg and eggs from my homestead for steem 😊

Maybe in the homesteading community here on steemit some sort of informal trading system could be developed based on steem payments for surplus fruit and veg.

That would be an interesting sideways MSProject...

Now theres a good idea. That could get steem going if people were trading it more for goods and services

Good Information :)

Every Day Crypto!

Thank You 4 the Heads-Up on www.PayWithSteem.com and hopefully You can find some shoes for Your daughters that Your wife approves of.

JUST one question... who is this guy named Frank ??

(( So, if I'm being frank my wife is giving me some grief... )) smilesssss

Well done Aggroed !!

Cheers !!

Thanks for Your Motivation post i really like this post.

Go minnows!! Thanks for the motivating post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29