3 Easy Steps to Steal Using PayPal!

in #paypal6 years ago (edited)

aHR0cDovL3d3dy50b3B0ZW5yZXZpZXdzLmNvbS9pL3Jldi9wcm9kL2xhcmdlLzY3NjMwLXBheXBhbC1ib3guanBn.jpeg
It doesn't take much to steal through PayPal. Here are three simple steps:

  1. Rent a house through PayPal;
  2. Stay there with your family;
  3. in several days request the money back claiming it wasn't what you wanted;
    Brothers_Gavs.jpg
    That's it. In couple weeks money will be back on your account. As easy as that! No need to scheme or think too much.

Here is my example as proof.
I rented out a house to a lovely family: a husband, a wife, ​and four cute kids. "Easy guests." - I thought naively...
In five minutes after the check-in​ I get a call from Bob (let's call the head of the family Bob). Apparently, there was a problem with the heater in the pool. Several calls - the problem is being fixed, the discount is offered to the guests, which they politely declined saying that they just want to swim in the pool. "Even better." - again I thought naively...

Guests check out, everyone is happy. In a week I get a call from Bob. He says that the house was dirty and he wants his money back. I explain that this kind of a problem should be discussed during the stay otherwise how would I know if it's true (and I know that it is not because I inspected the house in person before the check-in and the guests didn't say anything during their stay). Again I offered the discount which Bob declined.

I got upset but decided to let it go.
In a week I check my PayPal account and see I'm in debt. Heavily in debt (the exact amount of the rent). Shocked I call PayPal customer service. The female voice explains that Bob requested his money back because I didn't provide excellent service. I calmly explain that's not true. The voice promised to make a note in the case with the information that I just provided. I follow up in few days: there was no note on the case (exploding head emoji). I repeat the information and insist on making a note.

Third ​follow up. An hour on the phone, I am listening to PayPal infomercials​. Pleasant voice ensures​ that safety of the customers is a priority for PayPal and my money is protected. I feel encouraged and patiently wait. Finally, I am connected to the operator! Guess what? There was no note left. I breathe​​, meditate, pray - all at the same time trying not to blow up. Ok, one last time... This time the voice asked me to email all the evidence. So I did.

Next day I get an email from PayPal saying that Bob's claim was approved and he received​ the money. I call PayPal; my call is then redirected to collections!!! I'm instructed to pay the full amount​ (a very significant amount) *Forgot to mention I'm a grad student that helps homeowners rent their properties to make money on the side. This is a lot of money for me. It felt like a joke, but too elaborately inconceivable so I knew it was real. So I ask to be redirected back to PayPal.

Apparently, no one​ ever noted with information I provided, no follow up, half of my calls weren't answered, and now they say that I have to pay thousands of dollars to Bob's bank. I ask if PayPal is going to do anything about it (at this moment I was talking to the supervisor of the supervisor). The answer was no. PayPal has a policy that forbids them to step in, and the bank had a separate investigation. I ask for the name of the bank. Paypal cannot disclose this information.

Hours on the phone, emails, explanations. "Yes, mam, we understand that it is unfair. But there is nothing we can do."
My eyes are wet, a lump in my throat. I am fighting against the system, running in circles and finally realizing that no one gives a s* ​because their policy is their policy. I hung up. I'm broke.

Everything about PayPal exuberates confidence, good values, professionalism, Peter Thiel, Elon Musk, the list goes on! But it's a false flag. I worked hard to provide a service for Bob. Bob didn't have to work hard to get his money back. I hope he sleeps well at night along with the author of PayPal's policy that forbids true customer service.

As for you dear reader, you just got a three-step plan on getting free services or goods through PayPal.
Enjoy!

Sort:  

Congratulations @culprit-girl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41