Can we get a "retweet" option?

in #payouts8 years ago

Hello Steemians.

As someone who is terribly new to steam, I am still in awe of how it works, and what it can do for all us content creators who have been scribbling our thoughts for years on the internet without any compensation.

Making posts has been a blast. That said, I do have one suggestion, and I hope the entire Steemit community will at least consider it.

Some of my posts have been incredibly successful, garnering attention from a lot of people currently on Steemit. But new people are joining every day, and they don't usually see some of my better posts.

Other posts of mine have not gotten the attention I had hoped for them, and I feel that they could use a second look, somewhere down the road.

The way Steemit is set up now has a lot of advantages. But it also keeps any content older than a few hours (one day at most) from reaching an audience.

One way around this is to simply recreate old posts manually (and by manually, I mean copy-pasting) to create the illusion of newness. This, I think, is a little dishonest. And even though I want my old stuff to be seen, I don't want people to confuse it with the new stuff I am creating each week.

So is there any way to take an old post and bring it to people's attention again, a la a "retweet" button or some equivalent? If there isn't, could such a feature be added?

I understand that such a feature could also be abused, so if there were certain limitations put on it (for example, only allowing one repost per day) I would be okay with that.

What do you think? Should there be a way to breathe new life into old content? Or should the Steemit platform, by design, only allow new content to be rewarded. Let me know what you think in the comments section.

Thanks.

[Addendum: the first time I posted this, it strangely got deleted after 34 minutes, forcing me to repost it manually. Maybe it's a sign?]

Sort:  

Upvoted you

I don't think republishing is a good option in Steem. After all, this is a blockchain based media, which means that everything is permanently stored in the blockchain. There shouldn't be any reason to store same information many times, once is enough.

Yes, this platform is a blockchain, but it is also a social media platform, and those absolutely require the ability to republish existing content.

And, of course, you wouldn't have to put the same article on the blockchain a second time. You could just put a pointer or reference to the original article, much like what is done in computer programming when you pass by reference instead of passing by object.

That said, I'm open to all kinds of suggestions here.

I sometimes feel the same way about old blog posts I think are special that never really caught on. My thinking is, by not having a RT option, we're encouraging the community to continue producing great new content. I think a post which highlights a previous post (by linking to the original) might make more sense, almost like how people reshare memories on Facebook. That makes a lot more sense to me.

There's merit to all those ideas. Still, I think there is a demand for a feature that directly deals with this issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56