Yemeni Women

in #payitforward6 years ago

Hello Folks!

I am still trying to adjust to the time difference in my new country and, it sort of affecting my creativity to write. That and because I have a lot of things to do. For starters, I am trying to earn my registration as a registered nurse in Australia and, we are really busy.

Today however, is very special. It's the International Women's Day and, I believe that its time for me to tell more of my story.

A few years ago, I worked as a nurse in one of the most dangerous places in the world and that is in Sana'a, Yemen. I do not generally want to discuss how things went there(that's for another post) but, I wanted to share my experiences especially on how Yemeni women were treated.

Islam is predominantly their religion but, unlike other countries, they are not extreme. Still, my perception on how women were treated there were not good.

Women needed to cover themselves from head to foot like this:


copyright by Press Tv

the more "modern or less conservative" families


copyright by openDemocracy

They are not allowed to speak to anyone except to their significant family members like their fathers, brothers, sons, grandfathers and uncles. When they reach a certain age, they will be forbidden to speak to any male who is not blood relative to them.

Some families would even impose that they be exclusively confined inside their residences and be heavily chaperoned in all their out door trips.

They do not have a say on their marriages as their elder brothers, uncles and fathers are the ones "negotiating." Some would even marry off their daughters the moment they have their first menstruation while others will blatantly "sell" them off because of the dowry.

Most of them were not educated and therefore unable to read and write or even understand simple procedures like admitting their children in the hospital.


copyright by alamystock

When they are sick, its their male family members who give their consent into any procedure that would be done, even their hospitalization- almost every aspect of them.

To say it shortly, women were not really treated equally. One time, one of our Palestinian born turned Yemeni citizen doctor in the unit I worked told me that a woman's statement is only half of a man's. So in short, women were second class citizens- like a dog or a chattel to be handled, bartered or traded according to the situation. I was furiously upset to learn about this.

I made a lot of Yemeni friends - on both sexes and, I got the chance to ask about their practices. The initial reaction was that, it was pretty normal for them to do these things because, they are their customs and, when I asked them if they feel impeded or restricted, they said no.

As @wolfhart had been telling me in one of his comments- culture is a bitch. I am expecting nothing but these from my friends but, they walked me through their culture. Since they strictly follow their faiths and traditions, their male relations find other ways to express their love for them: they consult them on their decisions especially on their marriages, careers(my friends were educated- nurses, doctors, pharmacists, etc).


copyright by alamystock
the old city of Sana'a- I love going through that door -it's like entering into another world.

Nonetheless, in spite of all the oppression that I perceived male were doing against women in their society, I have never been treated better in my life. The male Yemeni nurses would often offer their help even on simple things like translating for me, bringing my medications and, any other trivial things that I needed them to do in the unit. The male relatives of my clients were nonetheless very respectful and courteous. It is the same when I get out. Though its not allowed to wear anything that shows any part of my body, I would often stroll in BAB-AL Yemen or the old city of SAna'a which is fabled to be founded by Noah's son, Shem. Yes folks. The same place where the Al Qaeda, Isis or whatever terrorist group out there is using as their "recruitment" site. I would often be greeted by this


copyright by Islam Hashtag

which means- Peace be with you- what a wonderful greeting from all the people who I initially thought were oppressing women , kill thousands of people and are spreading fear and chaos everywhere.

Men in the old city were especially very polite and courteous. Asking me where am I going, what am I going to buy or, weather I want them to take pictures of me using my phone.I do this almost everyday on my day offs- alone, wearing shirts and jeans. Uncovered and very much "vulnerable" in old city of Sana'a.

I still believe that my friends should have been given more freedom and leeway based on my standards. Unfortunately, they have their own version.

Looking at it from their point of view. I might be wrong. My friends might be following their customs and traditions but in their eyes, they were not really oppressed and discriminated. Perhaps, I am getting my own personal convictions in the table which makes it difficult for me to clearly take a strong stand on this. I may never know for now. What is clear however is that, in a world where I initially thought that all women were treated terribly because of their culture and traditions lies a gap or a broken link: My incompetence to understand and comprehend the effects of my own personal convictions and the situation I am comparing it with.

I am greatly humbled by this analysis. But this is life. This is a journey and, I still have a lot of things to learn.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

@nurseanne84 there's culture and there's the transcendence of cultural norms. Lovely reflections on how certain stereotypes may or may not hold true ((':

Happy Int'l Women's Day! 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Very nice perspective @nurseanne84. Of course, @wolfhart hits the nail on the head, with that aspect.

Because of their beliefs, they might not believe they are oppressed. We feel they are because they haven't has the same 'advantages' as we have.
If you haven't known anything different, then there is nothing to question. I have learned a lot from @cicisaja about her beliefs She and her husband are truly wonderful people with wonderful hearts. So it doesn't surprise me by the greetings you recieved. It's the extremists that cause the issues. Not everyday people, as you found out.

I hope you're getting settled in your new home. That kind of move is culture shock. People think Americans are opinionated. Well, a lot are. I guess I can be at times. A fair portion of the country feels that one needs to be politically correct or you might hurt someone's feelings. While some just stay silent because it's not worth the effort. In Australia, they just speak their mind. They don't care about being 'politically correct' . They call it like they see it. Of course this is from friends I have that lived in Australia for a time and friends I have that live there. Oh and of course, YouTube videos.

Of course, we might have to change our minds a bit, they have something against @quillfire LOL Maybe they lack a sense of humor?

Honestly, I am still settling in. Yes. I do find the move a bit unnerving at times because, I do need to adapt a different mind set compared to what I am used to. Do I suffer from culture shock? I do not think so at this point. Though the initial challenge was getting the usual "Filipino culinary delights" for some, I hardly find that an issue for me because, I can cook and all I have to do is go to Cole's or whoolies to get whatever ingredient I need.

I hope @cicisaja reads my post too. I find her to be a wonderful person.

I love not being politically correct and, I really enjoy seeing my Filipino friends' faces whenever I interact with a local and say something which might not be considered polite in the Philippines. I call it as I see it and I love doing just that!

I read it @tryskele and nurseanne84.. you are always talking about me in the publuc space 😂😂😂 you made me like a saint😂😂😂😂 heeyy.. have you ever thought that as a muslim woman, I was drinking some beers too😁😁😁 I did it and I stopped when something inside me told me that's not a good thing to drink for my health😊 not my religious teacher or my parents who told me not to.

I fully understand the yemeni women's situation.. it's not Islam Culture that Prophet Muhammad (May Peace be upon Him) taught us. It is not what mentioned in Al Quran too.

It's man made for their own satisfaction😂😂 you see, they controlled their women but they're going so easy on you, while you are a woman too. What would you think if a muslim woman takes another woman to be her husband's second or third wives? Aahh... I don't understand Woman.. that's why I will never ever married to a woman😂😂😂

Sorry.. to make this serious issue into a joke😊 I appreciated your experience, we have so many problems in the world about woman's right. What I know from what I learned in Islam is all human are equal but what makes them different in Allah's sight is how they optimized their good deeds and blessings they got from the Almighty. So.. it's not about competing or comparing each other genders, races or beliefs😉

Hey, we are only talking about you always so, its not a big deal. But seriously, I really appreciate you in a lot of ways not just on your knowledge in your religion but, I like your attitude, your outlook in life. I believe that you are a wonderful person.

You posts brigthens my day.

hahahaha.. I'm a mean girl if you know me for sure @nurseanne84 .. hahahaha, I can be very mean when I feel like I can drink someone's blood if I want to but.. again Drinking or cosuming blood except through transfusion is forbidden in my religion too..hahahaha, I don't want to be a dracula either.

and the more I read your posts, the more I honour your experience and what's in your mind @nurseanne84, I like the way you release your energy and it's a good vibration too. Inspiring me to be more alert to my responsibility as a human, especially a woman and a muslim too. by the way.. have you ever known that in my Holy Qurán there's a special chapter called Annisa aka Woman?

the best muslim in the world is she/he who could interprete the text from Allah into life and be kind to other creatures. and you My dear sister, even you're not muslim.. you live the way a muslim should be already.

I am not aware of it until now.But I will make it a point to read it. 😆😆😆😆

i can create a post about that later .. and it will safe your time to get the registration first. you are a nurse and you are helping people, you are a woman and you help people without asking what's theirs religion.. tat's the muslim way too.

I am currently on that journey @cicisaja but on my downtime, I write😅😅😅😅😅

because I love doing this.

Awesome post! It is a very interesting perspective from a outside point of view!

what you think is good or bad another culture can have the opposite opinion. the problems comes in when people try and infringe their culture on people of others countries.
The same is to be said on going into another country and pushing or expecting your values, laws and culture apply there.

well said my friend.

First of all happy womens day to you and all the women out there struggling hard to help their families, i am so glad to hear that you're a nurse.. Well concerning the women covering their faces, it also happens here in the northern part of my country but its not as rampant as the one in yemen, in school i use to have this coursemate of mine she's was part of those who covered their faces in school, up until now i never saw or knew what she looked like but she interracted with me back then so well and even know my name, but unfortunately due to the fact that alot of people kept questioning her on why she would always cover her face, she had to live my school and travelled to turkey thats where shes schooling now its just so funny and at thesame time weird but well its their own belief, thanks for sharing.

hello @guchidan, first of all, can you explain to me why you feel happy that I am really a nurse in real life? Because basically, all the people I know- especially the sick and old have this- I am glad you are a nurse drama and, I just cannot understand the catch of the joke if there is.

Thank you for greeting me on our special day. It's so nice to be a woman really.

Nurses are caring, all the nurses i have encountered are great people including you😂😁, my friends mum is a nurse, she always ensures that she keeps a higyne home, shes so neat and very good both in character and in her place of work, i know its stressful but i respect nurses so much, one of ny uncle also is a nurse i just respect the work you guys do its not easy.

Yes. And the fact that we become so obsessed with cleanliness. We have a disorder for that- compulsive obsessive syndrome which makes everyone crazy. Imagine sitting on a chair after spraying it with antiseptic. Having your dishes washed in lukewarm water everytime and, basically a lot of weird stuffs you guys might find on the crazy side.

Yes. We are very caring but, its not always like that especially if we feel burnt out and all.

You just pointed a true fact i'm aware of, i totally agree with you on this.

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.81% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This is a great share any day, but especially on International Women's Day. Such a good reminder that we are all influenced by our own personal and cultural perspectives. I would have a hard time letting my father or any other men in my family make my decisions for me, but in the same turn I don't think they would want that responsibility! In some ways though, it does take some of the responsibility off of the women. Perhaps it is freeing in some ways that I could not begin to understand. I often get frustrated in American culture how much emphasis is placed on looking a certain way or keeping up with fashion trends, so I could actually understand how the traditional garb might actually be more pleasant in that respect. There are definitely all kinds of pros and cons to many cultures, so I appreciate you sharing and making me think a little bit more about my own biases!

Wearing the abaya or chastity dress is a great experience. For me, its actually liberating as I can get ready in a matter of seconds. There is even no "protocol" or rule on what clothes lies underneath it so, I can wear my PJs or sometimes even my house dress anywhere in it.

It's not as hot or stuffy as some may claim because its manufactured on different types of clothes- there are cottons, silk, etc.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77