Power of paper

in #payitforward6 years ago

Hello Folks!

I have just arrived home after my 12 hour bus travel from the capital and well, it was tiring. After a long sleep and well, now a ganoderma mushroom coffee, I think I am ok now.

It took quite awhile for me to figure out exactly what to talk about today and, apart from wanting to bolt from the idea of discussing this, I think its one of the "fly on the wall" that beginners like me find difficult to discuss, recognize, ask or even use. I will be talking exactly how I was able to acquire my paper wallets.

I am not going to be hypocrite and tell you guys that I do not have random fears or doubts about cryptocurrency when I started especially because of my previous experiences. It was really terrible I said to myself that I would simply give up because of a random bump on the road- so to speak and so, the first thing that I decided to do after my PONZI disaster was research more on security.

Being a crypto enthusiast even if I did start my journey by simply earning my first coins by faucet claims, I realized that I needed a place to store them. I of course opted for something that is cheap, accessible and very much secured option but, my budget is limited and, I just do not want to invest on something that I do not have concrete idea or, my knowledge is pretty basic.

There is also the factor wherein people around me are starting to say that I am acting very weird because of my belief in the blockchain. Not that I go around muttering random things like BITCOIN! SATOSHI or whatever cryptocurrency cliche' you guys might think of. I did not also jump into the wagon of people who suddenly have the compulsion to wear one of these


(copyright by hipsterpig.com)

use items like these


(copyright by thegldshop.com)

my, even eat or drink from one like


(copyright by cryptoguide.pro)

just to let everyone know of my current interests or obsession.

I just thought on those weeks that I needed first to make sure that whatever I earn would be locked in a place where I do have full control and easy access to.

Doing that on a limited fund and on someone who fairly does not know the difference of hot, cold or warm wallet is difficult. Its also seem to complicate things up because I do not want to shell off any fund.

One time, I read in one of the sites I visited the use of paper wallets and how it does have a leverage over digital ones.

Apart from the physical limitations of paper which can be burnt, easily damaged, torn, and well, basically, its a fragile thing to use, I have decided to make one for myself anyway.

I of course did not fully entrust my faith in a single piece of paper with my wallet address and pray hard that the natural elements will not spare it. Nor did I lose sleep thinking that anytime, my storage place would be raided by rats, vermins or whatnots. I simply created my wallet, printed a copy which I kept in a secure place and, stored a back up copy in a usb which I kept secured in another location.

The next thing that I did when I have finally committed with it is this: what coin should I start with. I certainly do not want to start with my bitcoin satoshi or any other alt coin that I thought would have more value so, I started with my doge.

It worked like a charm. In fact, after realizing the ease of printing and using paper wallets, I just thought that perhaps simple things can truly provide amazing solutions.

Today, though I started printing something that looks like this


(my paperwallet spread out- the public address is the one used to make deposits and the security key is the one utilized to make withdrawals)

I opted for simple, more innocent look and just chuck it off randomly in my place.


(I covered the security key- which was in qr code for security reasons)

Who would suspect anything? In my place, bitcoin,cryptocurrency and blockchains were still worlds away. So if there is any logical way of storing my coins, its this. Not in a hardware which might look more attractive than than this.

@crypto.piotr @intellihandling @krypterion @simplymike

Sort:  

I'm terribly unorganized, and from experience I know paper wallets are not my cup of tea.
When I took my first steps into the world of crypto, I was just like you. Faucets were the beginning, then HYIP investment sites. Lol, I had lost a lot of money before I realized I could just as well burn my money :0)

I started out with Bitcoin, I guess most people did, and kept it safe on Coinbase. Then I learned about all kinds of wallets, and by that time the price of Bitcoin was more as 20x as high as when I bought it, which gave me the means to create a very diversified portfolio. I had already lost/misplaced 2 paper wallets, and because I was dealing with a truckload of money at the time (the time when every coin was at its ATH), I decided I needed something secure and organized. First I got myself a Trezor, later a Ledger Nano. I have currencies neither of them support, so I have quite a couple of wallets installed on my laptop.

I'm a bit of a freak, but I have all keys written down in a book, backed up to 1 USB and 2 differen hard drives and printed out on paper.

The one thing is that I keep all of those in my house, which is not very smart, because if it burns to the ground tomorrow, my zillion backups will be gone. The last couple of months I haven't bden so obsessed by researching and buying new coins anymore, but I used to be. And back then it wasn't very convenient to keep a backup somewhere else, because I needed to update it almost daily. But maybe now the rime is right to find a safe place to store at least 1 backup.
Thanks for the reminder!

You're welcome @simplymike. Which reminds me too that I need to find a safe place to store my back up. Like you, mine is stored around the house and, yes, we have to face the reality that perhaps one of these days, if it burns down to the ground, we're pretty much screwed up.

I love to see how responsive and mature you are @simplymike

It's always fun to read your comments ((whenever I bump into them).

Yours
Piotr

WOW this is actually very cool! I never thought of it this way!
I think I need a paper wallet, myself LOL

there are a lot of sites offering paper wallets these days. Your job is to determine which is trustworthy amongst them.

I think thats the toughest part

try using alt coins that has little value first like digibyte and dogecoin.............just observe if there is any "unusual activities" like unreasonable deductions...........also, check in the web for reviews on paper wallets.....

Hi @nurseanne84, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @krypterion doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @kryptarion ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

yes. I meant kryptarion. OMG

I like a lot paper wallet but I don't have any since I have problems to store that...
I have so many papers in my house that I even don't know where it is hahaha!

print one copy and save a copy in a flashdrive..........in case the printed one gets destroyed. hahaha

Congratulations @nurseanne84! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The paper wallet looks cool, I really don't have any paper wallets.

Posted using Partiko Android

There are a lot of reputable pages out there that offers paper wallets.what type of alt coins do you have or interested into?

I really need to take Crypto Security a bit more seriously... :-D
I don't think I'm doing it wrong but maybe a hard wallet will be better.

nothing beats the hard wallet @trincowski but for us newbies, we gotta start somewhere and, this is the cheapest and most secure way available.

Paper wallets are risky in their own way... cameras and snooping are the principal threats. Also, unsecured networks/computers/printers... if you are being paranoid!

true. that's why I always print mine in a usb printer with wifi off on all gadgets..............there will always be a risks. That's why I never use paper wallets for my transactions but transfer on my fiat/on line ones....

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.76% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Dear @nurseanne84

I hope you don't mind receiving this comment as it may be a little off our usual topic.

I'm not sure if you've noticed your SP lately, but it has recently increased. I managed to receive support and encouragement from a few people who seem to appreciate my work here on Steemit and whoare also interested in seeing our little community grow.

Those 3 guys delegated together almost 4000 SP to a group of around 80 people I support and that includes you! :)

a) majes.tytyty
b) devann
c) boxcarblue

You can check your own delegations using this link:
http://www.steemreports.com/delegation-info/?account=xxxx (xxxx = name of your account)

It obviously took me some time and effort to organize and get them on board. Plus they are using their own resources so ... I can only hope that you will invest some of your own time and effort to show them your support, appreciation/ say thank you etc. And if you enjoy their content then please also try to drop some valuable comment.

After all we need people like them if we want this community to grow stronger. So I hope I can count on you.

In the meantime I'm having a talk with 2 other people and one witness, who may also join my efforts and make some extra delegation :) Fingers crossed :)

Yours
Piotr

Dear Piotr,

Thank you for informing me about the latest delegators (@majes.tytyty, @devann and @boxcarblue). I really don't mind reading your comment. Thanks for the heads up.

I know that it would look like I am very naive but, this is the first time that I have been informed about the link where I can check whoever delegated to me.

It will not be difficult for me to engage with these guys- delegation or no delegation wise. Even now that I am writing this comment, I am listening to @majes.tyty's latest post (reiki music) and you know what, I like it. I plan to check on the other guys' pages as soon as I can.....though I already have a feeling that I would like their posts as much as I like @majes.tyty's.

Thank you for all your efforts in helping everyone (especially me!hehehehe)

Kind regards and, advanced Happy Chinese New Year!

Anne

Hi @nurseanne84

I've never seen nurse who is as engaging and familiar with technology the way you are :)

I know that it would look like I am very naive but, this is the first time that I have been informed about the link where I can check whoever delegated to me.

I also just found out yesterday that you can check delegations on www.steemworld.com :)

ps.
As you may already know, every weekend Im sending one memo with some recommendation to quality posts related to blockchain technology. I hope you don't mind receiving it.

I would always appreciate if you could show your support towards promoted authors (mostly by droping some valuable comment). But please don't ever feel pressured.

Im always only grateful to those who can support my efforts. But I fully understand that we all have our lifes and responsibilities outside steemit.

Also please keep in mind, that I'm always happy to help get some extra exposure to those who are the most supportive towards rest of our little crypto community here on Steemit. I can help you as well in the future :)

Especially if you would post valuable content related to blockchain.

Yours
Piotr

Dear Piotr,

I am always trying to adapt to everything and yes, sometimes, its difficult to be creative especially because my profession is always evidenced based- more on rigid, logical reasoning that sometimes, I feel that my creativity gets sidelined.

As for participating in the community, for me, its just a matter of priority and time management really. Not that I am great at it but, I try to do so.

The worst problem that I had so far is getting eye strain aside from connection issues.

I do want to bring as much people as I can in our platform that's why I have always been striving to post a variety of things to cater to every taste.

Apart from your unwavering support, I am asking you to just send me links for me to engage. Its one way for me to learn more of the blockchain and hopefully, make a profit from it someday?hehehehehe

Enjoy your break!

Anne

Love to see how responsive you are @nurseanne84

I'm sorry that it took me so long to read and reply.

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75