Life skills

in #payitforward5 years ago

This post had been inspired by @jaynie's post- here's the link: https://steemit.com/powerhousecreatives/@jaynie/lost-life-skills

fountain3412242_640.jpg

My life as a child

When I was a kid, I was innately curious. I wanted to learn how to do basic household chores like washing the dishes, helping prepare the food, cleaning the house, doing ordinary things. But my mom would always tell me that I am inefficient and too young.She felt the need for me to focus more on my studies because, she thought that it would really help me on with my life.

I grew up and during those years especially when I was a teenager, I encountered nosy relatives who made it their business to tell me that their kids can cook this and that dish, are very responsible and competent in their household chores. I have to admit that there was a part of me that was really embarrassed because at that time, I am aware that I was initially interested. Its just that I get rebuffed. At that time, my mom attempted to teach me but, I was already very stubborn because, I never did that as a child.

I am not going to make a litany on how hard it was for me to live away from home because I was not really trained to prepare my own food, do my laundry, budget my money, shop for my needs. I believe that as a child, it should have been taught early on by my mom. Its just that she thought, excelling academically would make my life better.

wickerwork1314017_640.jpg

Yes, my life now is better because, I can be employed in various institutions which would not have been possible if I was not really academically accomplished.However, I am still working on my life skills. I do not know how to drive a car, ride a bike or even swim. My mom, in her "protectiveness" thought that these were not essential skills. They are! Today, when I get invited in any party that involves water activities, I get scared because, the possibility of drowning is just lurking around the corner for me. I cannot travel anywhere without public transport because my mom thought that I might get into any type of accident when riding a bike. I cannot drive because, the possibility of dying from driving a car is likely. When I summarize my earlier life, I was not really able to gain any practical life skill because my mom is over protective and, I resent that very much.

Life skill for me is important because it helps anyone be more independent. Think of it this way: if you know how to do basic things like bake a pie or clean your house, you might end up paying less because the labor- which often involved others to do it would be shouldered by you. Why will you pay anyone to repair your leather boots if you do have the knowledge, skills and tools to do that?

How others view life skills

It cannot be denied that in my country, life skills such as learning how to drive, bake, weave baskets, cook and others are usually delegated to the poorest of the poor. Most of the people in my country do feel a sense of superiority over people who use these skills as their source of livelihood. I had been threatened by my mom when I was growing up that if I do not study hard enough, I might end up cooking or cleaning for other people- which was really HARD. Guess who cleans, cooks, shops and mend things for me now?

people2583493_640.jpg

At the end of the day, I think that the ability to be independent is heavily related to a person's life skills. For those who are curious to know, I can make a decent meal, clean my place, budget my money and shop competently. I learned these things because of my desire to be independent and to survive in a foreign land.

I am just wondering now, what would happen to me if my circumstances were different.What if I never left home and stayed with my mom until now? Will I have the motivation to learn some useful life skills? Or, will I just think that these are things done by the poorest of the poor in my country?

@jaynie

Sort:  

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

You have brought a very interesting facet of this subject to the table. That being, the protectiveness of parents and how this too hinders life skill development. I actually had not even thought about it from this perspective! And in certain ways, I am guilty of that with Jude, so thank you - because it has made me see things a little differently.

I think the most important thing for you now, is that you have realised what has been missing from your "world" and now in a positive and exciting manner, you can start treating the "learning" of all those things as an adventure :)

I am thrilled that my post inspired you hon! And thank you for the shout out.

This is what's great in our community- when we miss something, others will pick it up. No worries @jaynie.

True story :)

I am not going to make a litany on how hard it was for me to live away from home because I was not really trained to prepare my own food, do my laundry, budget my money, shop for my needs. I believe that as a child, it should have been taught early on by my mom. Its just that she thought, excelling academically would make my life better.

I can relate to that, except for the budget part. That was never an issue for me. I've learned since very young to always spend less than I earn.

I cannot drive because, the possibility of dying from driving a car is likely.

I had a car for a few years and I got involved in several accidents. Next time, I might not be as lucky. So now I use Public Transport, too, as I'm sick and tired of crashing.

I had a car for a few years and I got involved in several accidents. Next time, I might not be as lucky. So now I use Public Transport too, as I'm sick and tired of crashing.

What a new perspective! Yeah! maybe if I start driving a car, I might spend more on insurance and car repair! I probably should stick to public transport........hahahahahaha

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.58% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hahaha... that's how a rich kid grows up 😆 i thought that kinda story only exists on drama on TV😊 oouhh... it must be hard for you to have a protective mother. Lucky me, My mother taught me everything and let us 9 siblings taught each other about everything we learnt outside.

Maybe it's also time for you to learn how to drive and surprise your mother with it, one day😉 what's the most interesting things to show off to those who underestimate you?

Actually, she is very proud of what I accomplished- though yes, she is very scared of it. But come to think it this way: these things should be taught when one is young so it becomes a habit early on.

When I get to have a child, I need to do just that.....teach him or her everything so they won't end up the way I ended.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87