Small updates and my entry to @mountainjewel's delegation contest

In December, @mountainjewel is taking a steem break to go to a meditation retreat. Sounds fun! Five days ago, they announced they'll be doing a delegation of 1500 SP and two of 250 SP. What a big deal!

I figured my brown eyes and I would throw our name in the hat to receive one of the delegations.


South project a few days ago

South project today


Their rules require that you say what you'd do with a delegation.

I'd start with delegating the rest of my native SP to new homesteading/permaculture users. I've regretted not being able to do much of this with my own low SP, and I'd love to be able to use it for that purpose. New people with small accounts here are really hurting from HF20 and the RC/Mana situation that we've all experienced. Many folks have seen my comments on new users' posts trying to provide direction and tips for them to get a foothold on steem, and being able to delegate and support these brand new folks would take that to another level. I'd have to come up with some metrics that the users would need to meet to continue. I'd hate to waste a month of delegation on someone that doesn't stick around.

If I were awarded a 250SP delegation, that would be all I'd be able to do at the moment, but the 1500 SP delegation would allow me to add a lot more people to my auto voter, while providing those new small users with some hefty 100% votes instead of my current sub-penny votes.

Currently the folks that I support automatically are @rawutah, @makinstuff, @buckaroo, @craigcryptoking, and @goldenoakfarm. As well as a couple that have added tremendous value to my experience here on steem. I tried adding @gardeningchannel, but the voter doesn't auto vote d.tube posts for some reason, and that's his platform of choice.

So my first order of business after delegating away all my native SP would be to decrease the percentage at which I vote these current people. Don't worry though; with that much SP, their vote values would still increase dramatically. Then I would add a lot of people that are active in the community.


Added to the south compost today. That'll be the last I add to it for a while. It's gonna cook. I didn't give it any more bags, but added whatever had fallen in the vicinity and added some native soil and fungal cultures.

Started the first north compost pile. Eight bags of various leaves (not all oak), grass clippings, vines, and garden plants, along with coffee grounds and some native soil and fungal cultures for inoculation.


Hopefully, that will boost my own curation earnings so that the native SP delegations and voting support could be sustainable. That would be a real secondary benefit, and not the primary goal. After the delegation month, I'd have to decide whether to continue supporting all those people at a very low value or support fewer of them at normal value. We'll cross that bridge when we get there.


I've checked over and over again to make sure I qualify by the other metrics:

Native SP under 1200 ☑️
Unique passcode included in the post ☑️
Vote spreader outer ☑️
Steem daily ☑️☑️☑️☑️☑️
No self-voting ☑️
Lots of dapps and communities ☑️
Resteem, upvote, follow, post, tag ☑️☑️☑️☑️☑️


I've also decided to go back to using browser based steem interfaces. Partiko is cool, but I've been using it for a couple weeks and my feed in it is much less enticing. I've noticed my engagement sucks, so I'm going back to steempeak/@ginabot for my steeming after cashing out my partiko points on this post. I'll also be unfollowing a lot of irrelevant folks to make my feed more exciting and relevant to my current direction. It'll help me add more folks to the feed too!

Anyways, that's my entry to @mountainjewel's delegation contest and my plan for what I'd do with it if they decide to award me that huge opportunity.

Thanks for reading, feel free to vote if you like my plan and make suggestions for other cool things you'd like to see the winner do! They require that all the entrants use #payitforward, so you can check the other entries that way and drop your suggestions on those posts too! I look forward to hearing more ideas, as I'm new to the world of delegation.

Stay relevant

Nate

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Howdy sir nateonsteemit! Hey the yard/gardening work is looking great and I like your plans for if you win all that sp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51